shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use FlatWorld?

Trusted by 2,000+ institutions nationwide: homework, podcasts, and AI study support built into one easy-to-use platform at a price that respects your students. - flatworld.com

Depends. Buy it if you teach a course that matches one of FlatWorld's own titles and want cheaper courseware than Top Hat. Skip it if you need a broad catalog, verified security, or truly free materials.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 10 public sources; many online 'Flatworld' reviews belong to an unrelated BPO (Flatworld Solutions), not this product.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$24.95 (varies by title)

Basic online access

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
FlatWorld HomeworkFree for instructors

Best for

  • Cost-conscious college instructors
  • Gen-ed courses matching its catalog
  • Schools cutting student textbook costs

Not for

  • Courses needing titles outside its own catalog
  • K-12 districts or corporate training buyers
  • Anyone expecting OpenStax-level free materials
  • Buyers wanting independently verified security

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Tiered access pricing: verify exactly which features your tier includes before adopting.

medium

It killed its once-free online access in 2012; 'free' promises aren't guaranteed forever.

medium

OpenStax, Top Hat, and LibreTexts comparison pages are self-published ads — verify numbers independently.

low

Support runs through local reps; quality varies and is unreviewed publicly.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Homework system is free for instructors
  • Basic online access starts at $24.95
  • AI study support, podcasts, and homework built in
  • Listed in university IT catalogs (Baylor, UNLV) with LMS integration
  • Offers fully customizable textbook option

Cons

  • Only fits courses adopting one of its own published titles
  • SNHU students vent they 'absolutely hate' it on Reddit
  • Eliminated its free online textbook access in 2012
  • Its comparison pages are self-published marketing, not neutral reviews

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x6review x1security x1news x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • $24.95 (varies by title)

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Undercuts Top Hat's $58/yr; Basic from $24.95
  • Ease of use: 2/5. Reddit student complaints; thin evidence
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Homework, podcasts, AI study, custom textbooks, LMS app
  • Support quality: 3/5. Local-rep model per own comparison; unverified
  • Security posture: 3/5. Self-reported trust portal; no independent verification
  • 2,000+ Institutions using it claimed on FlatWorld's site
  • $24.95 Starting price Basic online access, varies by title
  • Yes Free tier FlatWorld Homework free for instructors
  • $9.5M Funding round led by 1745 Ventures

Pricing

Basic online access

$24.95 (varies by title)

  • Online textbook access
  • Lowest tier of its tiered access pricing

FlatWorld Homework

Free for instructors

  • Homework assignments
  • Podcasts and AI study support

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

product feedback is sparse — one visible Reddit thread shows SNHU students disliking it, while most 'Flatworld' reviews online belong to an unrelated BPO.

“Anyone else absolutely hates Flatworld?”
Reddit, r/SNHU

Companies that use it

  • Baylor University⁷
  • University of Nevada, Las Vegas⁸
  • Southern New Hampshire University⁴
Full analysis

Based on 10 public sources; many online 'Flatworld' reviews belong to an unrelated BPO (Flatworld Solutions), not this product.

Affordable college courseware from $24.95 with homework and AI study tools — but only if your course matches one of its own titles.

Methodology

Based on 10 public sources; many online 'Flatworld' reviews belong to an unrelated BPO (Flatworld Solutions), not this product.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. review
  5. news
  6. security
  7. official
  8. official
  9. news
  10. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.