shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Chip?

Savings - getchip.uk

Depends. Buy if you're a UK saver wanting automated deposits, decent instant-access rates, and simple 0%-fee investing in one app. Skip it if you live outside the UK, need full everyday banking, or want serious investing tools.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources; many snippets truncated, so review ratings and full pricing lacked hard numbers.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence in reviewed sources
  • Security posture

Pricing

ChipX investing

0% platform fees (advertised)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly fees0%
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • UK savers automating set-and-forget deposits
  • First-time investors wanting 0% platform fees
  • Bonus hunters willing to park cash 30–90 days
  • People consolidating save-and-invest in one app

Not for

  • Non-UK residents — this is a UK-only product
  • Anyone needing a current account or everyday banking
  • Serious investors wanting wide fund choice and advanced tools
  • People allergic to referral-driven promo marketing

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Sign-up bonuses (£10–£50) require deposits held 30–90 days before payout

medium

0% platform fees may exclude fund or FX charges — read the pricing page first

medium

Savings rates cited in sources are 2023 figures; confirm today's rate before committing

low

Promo offers change constantly; older Reddit bonus threads are already dead

Pros and cons

Pros

  • ChipX investing advertised with 0% platform fees
  • Instant-access saver rate raised to 3.82% (2023 report)
  • Listed as a regulated Open Banking provider in the UK
  • Publishes security page, complaints policy, and fraud-prevention guidance
  • Repeatedly crowdfunded (2020–2025) with Channel 4 Ventures participation

Cons

  • Growth relies on referral bonuses requiring locked deposits
  • Bonus-heavy marketing attracts short-term churn users
  • Rate evidence is dated 2023; current rates unverified in sources

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/07/2026 - 12 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x4review x5security x1news x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • 0% platform fees (advertised)

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. 0% investing fees, competitive 2023 saver rates
  • Ease of use: 4/5. One app for saving and investing
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Savings plus basic investing; no full banking
  • Support quality. No support evidence in reviewed sources
  • Security posture: 4/5. Regulated UK provider; no public breaches found
  • 400,000+ Claimed users per Chip promo copy, 2022
  • 3.82% Featured saver rate Reddit-reported, 2023 — verify current
  • 0% Investing fees ChipX platform fees, advertised
  • 5+ rounds Funding Crowdcube 2020–2025, Channel 4 Ventures

Pricing

ChipX investing

0% platform fees (advertised)

  • Per ChipX marketing page
  • Other fee types not visible in evidence

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Reddit users mostly trade referral bonuses and flag rate rises; Trustpilot and app-store reviews exist but rating numbers weren't visible in the reviewed snippets.

“Chip has increased instant saver accounts to 3.82%”
Reddit, r/UKPersonalFinance
“Chip Instant Access interest raised to 3.40%”
Reddit, r/UKPersonalFinance
“Chip £50 for depositing £1000 for 90 days”
Reddit, r/beermoneyuk
Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources; many snippets truncated, so review ratings and full pricing lacked hard numbers.

UK-only app for automated savings plus light investing; strong for set-and-forget savers, wrong for banking needs or non-UK users.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources; many snippets truncated, so review ratings and full pricing lacked hard numbers.

Sources

  1. review
  2. official
  3. official
  4. official
  5. security
  6. official
  7. review
  8. review
  9. review
  10. review
  11. news
  12. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.