shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Glowforge?

3D laser cutter and engraver sold as a consumer-friendly 'laser printer' for crafters, makers, and small businesses. - glowforge.com

Depends. Buy if you're a beginner crafter or small studio that values camera-guided simplicity over raw specs. Skip if you want best price-per-watt, offline control, or dependable post-sale support — OMTech and xTool win those arguments.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 30+ public sources: independent reviews, Reddit and community forums, BBB complaints, and funding news. Model prices marked 'Guess' — no exact figures in sources.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Guess: ~$1,000

Aura

ModelAura
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
PlusGuess: ~$4,000
ProGuess: ~$6,000

Best for

  • First-time laser buyers
  • Craft sellers and Etsy makers
  • Schools and libraries
  • Stationery and paper-goods studios

Not for

  • Budget buyers — OMTech/xTool deliver more wattage for less
  • Anyone wanting LightBurn or offline machine control
  • Businesses needing fast, reliable warranty support
  • Buyers spooked by cloud lock-in and company longevity risk

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Cloud-dependent: users explicitly fear a 'Revolv scenario' — bricked machines if the company folds.

high

BBB complaints include customers paying for a third replacement machine.

medium

Aura purchasers report 'bait and switch' — read refund terms before buying.

low

LightBurn forum users allege legal threats against critics; community relations are strained.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • User-friendly, beginner-focused workflow per multiple independent reviews.
  • Long-term owners remain impressed years after purchase.
  • Aura offers an affordable, fun entry point.
  • Deployed in schools and libraries with curriculum support.

Cons

  • Multiple reports of paying for repeated replacement machines.
  • Support complaints: laser failed, company won't reply or return calls.
  • Long Reddit debates call it overpriced versus competitors.
  • Aura buyers allege bait-and-switch pricing.
  • 2023 layoffs fuel 'will they shut down' speculation among owners.

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/06/2026 - 15 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x2review x10security x1news x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • Guess: ~$1,000

    Starting price

  • 15

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Called overpriced against OMTech and xTool.
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Repeatedly reviewed as user-friendly.
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Pro caps at 45W; rivals offer 60W.
  • Support quality: 2/5. Warranty horror stories, unreturned calls.
  • Security posture: 3/5. No public breaches; cloud dependence flagged.
  • $20M+ Series E funding May 2023; earlier reports cite $43M
  • 30 staff Layoffs December 2023, per GeekWire
  • 45W Flagship power Glowforge Pro vs 60W OMTech rivals
  • Aura Entry model Positioned 'affordable and fun' (Reviewed, 2023)

Pricing

Aura

Guess: ~$1,000

  • Entry diode model
  • Marketed as 'affordable and fun'

Plus

Guess: ~$4,000

  • Mid-tier CO2 model

Pro

Guess: ~$6,000

  • 45W flagship
  • Passthrough slot per listings

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Users consistently praise the ease of use and beginner experience but repeatedly flag the price, warranty support failures, and cloud dependence.

Companies that use it

  • Westfield Memorial Public Library
  • G.R. Little Library (Elizabeth City State University)
  • University of Maryland (sandbox wiki)
Full analysis

Based on 30+ public sources: independent reviews, Reddit and community forums, BBB complaints, and funding news. Model prices marked 'Guess' — no exact figures in sources.

Great beginner laser at a premium price: easy for newbies, but overpriced rivals, support complaints, and cloud lock-in.

Methodology

Based on 30+ public sources: independent reviews, Reddit and community forums, BBB complaints, and funding news. Model prices marked 'Guess' — no exact figures in sources.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. review
  10. news
  11. news
  12. review
  13. security
  14. official
  15. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.