shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Online Payment Processing Solution | GoCardless?

Collect and send payments, minimise failures, and fight fraud. No more chasing payments and no expensive card fees. - gocardless.com

Depends. Buy it if you collect recurring or invoice payments by bank debit and want to dodge card fees. Skip it if you need card checkout, in-person payments, or chargeback protection.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources; pricing and limits from an independent 2026 UK review. No named customer logos or user ratings found in evidence.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Pay-as-you-go

1% + 20p per transaction (UK, capped at £4)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNone
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes

Best for

  • Recurring subscription billing
  • B2B invoice collection
  • Avoiding card fees
  • UK/EU/CA/AU businesses

Not for

  • E-commerce needing card checkout — bank-to-bank only
  • In-person sellers — no card reader, period
  • Anyone relying on card chargebacks or dispute protection
  • Guess: US-only merchants; debit rails are strongest in UK/EU

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Mollie acquisition may change pricing or integrations — verify before committing long-term

medium

Guess: recurring payer mandates live inside GoCardless; switching processors means re-collecting mandates

low

20p flat fee makes very small payments proportionally expensive

low

24/7 award-winning support is self-reported; independent review data in sources is thin

Pros and cons

Pros

  • No card fees — collects straight from customer bank accounts
  • 1% + 20p per payment, capped at £4
  • No monthly contract; low transaction fees
  • Handles instant one-off and automated recurring payments on invoices or website
  • Sends outbound payments to customers, suppliers, third parties

Cons

  • Bank-to-bank only — cannot accept card payments
  • No card reader, so in-person payments are impossible
  • Acquired by Mollie — roadmap and pricing could shift

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x4review x4security x1news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • 1% + 20p per transaction (UK, capped at £4)

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. 1% + 20p capped £4 beats card fees
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Embeds on invoices, website, anywhere
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Recurring plus payouts; no card acceptance
  • Support quality: 3/5. 24/7 support claimed; unverified independently
  • Security posture: 4/5. Bank rails avoid card data; no breach findings
  • 1% + 20p Per-transaction price capped at £4 (UK)
  • None Monthly fee No monthly contract
  • 100,000+ Businesses using it small to enterprise, globally

Pricing

Pay-as-you-go

1% + 20p per transaction (UK, capped at £4)

  • No monthly contract
  • One-off and recurring bank debit
  • Domestic and international collection

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Independent reviewers praise the low capped fees but stress it accepts no cards — bank debit.

“direct debit at 1% + 20p capped at £4. Not a card reader. Bank-to-bank only.”
Business Expert, GoCardless Review 2026

Alternatives

Compare Online Payment Processing Solution | GoCardless with each alternative.

Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources; pricing and limits from an independent 2026 UK review. No named customer logos or user ratings found in evidence.

Ideal for recurring bank-debit collection; wrong pick if you need card checkout or in-person card payments.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources; pricing and limits from an independent 2026 UK review. No named customer logos or user ratings found in evidence.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. official
  5. security
  6. review
  7. news
  8. review
  9. review
  10. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.