shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Gocurb (Curb)?

Request & Pay for Taxis — rider app, driver app, and fleet dispatch systems - gocurb.com

Depends. Riders in covered cities get a free, no-surge taxi app, and taxi fleets get a full dispatch and payments stack. Skip it if you are outside its cities or need responsive support — complaints there are well documented.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~40 public sources; most review snippets were truncated, limiting quote depth.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Free (pay per ride)

Rider app

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Fleet systemsContact sales

Best for

  • City riders avoiding surge pricing
  • Airport trips with upfront fares
  • Wheelchair-accessible taxi bookings
  • Taxi fleet operators needing dispatch plus payments

Not for

  • Riders outside covered cities — the app is useless there
  • Anyone who expects fast, reachable customer support
  • Fleet buyers wanting transparent self-serve pricing
  • Users needing Uber-level driver supply and coverage

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Support escalations often need FairShake, a third-party mediation service.

medium

Fleet pricing is not public — sales-led purchase, expect negotiation.

medium

Upfront Pricing fares may differ from metered rates — check before booking.

low

Terms of Use contain opt-out provisions — read the arbitration/data clauses first.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Upfront fares and no surge pricing for airport trips.
  • Free rider app; you only pay for rides.
  • Books wheelchair-accessible taxi rides.
  • Full fleet stack: dispatch, payment hardware (Mini, Marquee, Victory 2).
  • Curb Flow brings Lyft demand to NYC taxis.

Cons

  • Driver app rated just 3.7/5 on the App Store.
  • Support complaints are common enough to spawn a mediation service.
  • No Trustpilot transparency information available.
  • Coverage was only ~60 cities as of the 2014 report.
  • Multiple complaint listings appear on independent review sites.

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/07/2026 - 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x4security x2news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • Free (pay per ride)

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Upfront fares, no surge pricing
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Driver app sits at 3.7/5
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Dispatch, payments, paratransit, ads, Curb Flow
  • Support quality: 2/5. Third-party mediation service exists for escalations
  • Security posture: 4/5. Published security page, SSL Labs tested, no known vulns
  • 3.7/5 Driver app rating Apple App Store ratings
  • 60+ US cities covered per 2014 Reddit report
  • Free Rider app cost pay per ride, no subscription
  • TaxiMagic Formerly rebranded to Curb

Pricing

Rider app

Free (pay per ride)

  • Upfront Pricing fares available
  • $5 referral credit
  • No surge pricing on airport trips

Fleet systems

Not disclosed

  • Dispatch and payment processing
  • Hardware: Mini, Marquee, Victory 2

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Sentiment is mixed: riders like no-surge taxi hailing, but drivers rate the driver app 3.7/5 and support complaints are recurrent.

“Curb is the #1 taxi app”
Reddit, r/uberdrivers

Companies that use it

  • Yellow Cab Broward
  • Transco (via Way2Cloud)
  • Marquee (Chicago fleets)
  • City of Chicago (WAV cabs program)
  • Lyft (Curb Flow partnership, NYC)⁷
Full analysis

Based on ~40 public sources; most review snippets were truncated, limiting quote depth.

Free no-surge taxi app in ~60 cities plus enterprise fleet dispatch. Fine for riders; support is the weak spot.

Methodology

Based on ~40 public sources; most review snippets were truncated, limiting quote depth.

Sources

  1. official
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. official
  7. news
  8. official
  9. security
  10. security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.