shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use GoStudent?

Mit dem Preis-Leistungs-Sieger 2023/24 in Online-Nachhilfe verbessern 93 % unserer Schüler*innen ihre Noten. - gostudent.org

Depends. Fits parents of school-age kids who want regular weekly 1:1 lessons and will commit to a membership. Skip it if you need occasional or pay-as-you-go tutoring — tutor complaints and subscription lock-in are red flags.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~30 public sources. Review snippets were truncated, so exact ratings and complaint details could not be fully verified.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo usable evidence either way
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Membership (1:1 lessons)

From £22.71/lesson, subscription

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • K-12 families wanting weekly scheduled 1:1 lessons
  • Parents who prefer matched tutors over marketplace hunting
  • Long-term school-year tutoring commitments

Not for

  • Occasional help — subscription minimums punish sporadic use
  • Pay-as-you-go shoppers who refuse contracts
  • Tutors seeking fair platform work — tutor communities say avoid
  • Adult learners — GoStudent targets K-12 school kids

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Sold as a rolling subscription; single-lesson platforms undercut it for occasional use

medium

Ex-tutor threads on Mumsnet suggest tutor churn and inconsistent quality

medium

No published security page; read the privacy policy before sharing a child's data

medium

'93% improve grades' is GoStudent's own marketing, not independently verified

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Claims 93% of students improve their grades
  • 1:1 online lessons with tutor matching and learning tools
  • iOS and Android apps included with membership
  • Well-funded: €300M Series D, €1.4B valuation
  • Transparent UK pricing page, from £22.71 per lesson

Cons

  • Membership is a subscription, not pay-per-lesson
  • Tutor communities warn: 'please avoid GoStudent'
  • Dedicated 'negative experiences' threads from tutors and parents
  • No public security or trust page found

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/25/2026 - 12 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x5security x2news x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • From £22.71/lesson, subscription

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Subscription lock-in; cheaper pay-as-you-go rivals exist
  • Ease of use. No usable evidence either way
  • Feature depth: 3/5. 1:1 lessons, tutor matching, learning area, mobile apps
  • Support quality: 2/5. Negative experience threads from tutors and parents
  • Security posture: 2/5. Privacy policy and DSA page exist; no public security page
  • £22.71 Starting price per lesson, UK
  • $340M Total funding Series D, Jan 2022
  • €1.4B Valuation European edtech unicorn
  • 93% Grade improvement company's own claim, unverified

Pricing

Membership (1:1 lessons)

From £22.71/lesson, subscription

  • 1:1 online lessons with a matched tutor
  • Access to GoStudent Learning tools
  • iOS and Android apps

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Feedback is polarised: some parents report grade gains, while Reddit tutor threads, Mumsnet and Trustpilot carry heavy complaints about the platform and its contracts.

“UK tutors: please avoid GoStudent!”
Reddit, r/TutorsHelpingTutors
“NEGATIVE experiences with GoStudent”
Reddit, r/tutor
Full analysis

Based on ~30 public sources. Review snippets were truncated, so exact ratings and complaint details could not be fully verified.

Subscription 1:1 tutoring for school-age kids. Fine for weekly lessons, but lock-in and tutor complaints favor pay-as-you-go rivals.

Methodology

Based on ~30 public sources. Review snippets were truncated, so exact ratings and complaint details could not be fully verified.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. official
  7. official
  8. official
  9. news
  10. news
  11. security
  12. security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.