shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Hack The Box?

Leading hands-on cybersecurity training and upskilling platform - hackthebox.com

Depends. Buy if you're serious about offensive or defensive security skills, or upskilling a security team — G2 badges rank it #1 in category. Skip if you're a total beginner or casual learner; TryHackMe is cheaper and more guided.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~40 public sources; snippets were truncated so exact individual prices and customer names are unverified.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo usable support evidence in sources
  • Security posture

Pricing

Tier-based (2026 repricing)

Academy individual

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Labs (VIP)Paid subscription
EnterpriseContact sales

Best for

  • Aspiring pentesters
  • Security teams upskilling staff
  • CPTS/CDSA certification seekers
  • Intermediate-to-advanced hackers

Not for

  • Total beginners wanting guided hand-holding
  • Casual hobbyists on tight budgets after repricing
  • Non-technical staff needing basic awareness training
  • Buyers needing transparent pricing upfront

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Academy moved to tier-based pricing in 2026; Reddit users say costs rose noticeably

medium

Exact individual tier prices not visible in sources reviewed — verify before subscribing

low

Enterprise is quote-only; expect sales negotiation, no published numbers

Pros and cons

Pros

  • G2 category #1 badges in Winter 2025
  • Hands-on certifications including CPTS and CDSA
  • Catalog spans intro basics to supply-chain attacks
  • $55M Series B signals venture-backed stability
  • 267 G2 reviews across its products

Cons

  • Tier-based 2026 repricing frustrated existing users
  • Beginners question whether it is friendly
  • Enterprise pricing hidden behind contact sales

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/27/2026 - 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x6news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • Tier-based (2026 repricing)

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. 2026 tier repricing drew user complaints
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Reddit beginners repeatedly ask if it's friendly
  • Feature depth: 5/5. Labs, academy, enterprise platform, hands-on certs
  • Support quality. No usable support evidence in sources
  • Security posture: 4/5. Security-native vendor; no product vulns found
  • 267 G2 reviews across HTB products
  • #1 G2 category rank Winter 2025 badges
  • $55M Funding Series B, led by Carlyle
  • Yes Free tier free account and free courses

Pricing

Academy individual

Tier-based (2026 repricing)

  • Courses and labs by tier
  • Free courses available
  • Exact tier prices not shown in sources

Labs (VIP)

Paid subscription

  • Machine labs access
  • Price not visible in sources

Enterprise

Not disclosed

  • Team training platform
  • Quote-only pricing

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Reddit and review sites praise HTB's depth and realism but flag its difficulty for beginners and frustration over 2026 pricing changes.

“Is HTB worth it?”
Reddit, r/hackthebox
“Is HackTheBox enough?”
Reddit, r/hacking
“is hack the box beginner friendly?”
Reddit, r/hackthebox
Full analysis

Based on ~40 public sources; snippets were truncated so exact individual prices and customer names are unverified.

Top-rated hands-on hacking labs and certs; superb for career security pros, steep and pricier since 2026 for beginners.

Methodology

Based on ~40 public sources; snippets were truncated so exact individual prices and customer names are unverified.

Sources

  1. review
  2. official
  3. news
  4. official
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. HTB CPTS certification pageacademy.hackthebox.com
    official
  9. review
  10. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.