shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Hideez?

Protect your workforce identities with passwordless authentication. Simplify access to endpoints, web services, and legacy applications. - hideez.com

Depends. Fit for mid-size orgs with shared Windows workstations — clinics, factories, government — that want passwordless login plus hardware keys. Individuals and small teams should buy a YubiKey or use passkey-capable Bitwarden instead.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources; thin on user reviews, named customers, and public pricing.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useQR-code login claimed, but user feedback scarce.
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo usable support evidence found.
  • Security posture

Pricing

~$49 / €50 one-time

Hideez Key 4 (hardware)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
Hardware~$49 / €50
Workforce Identity ServiceQuote-based

Best for

  • Shared-workstation clinics and factories
  • Windows fleets moving off passwords
  • Government/public-sector passwordless rollouts
  • Orgs wanting key + app + SSO bundled

Not for

  • Individuals wanting a simple personal security key
  • Small teams without dedicated IT admins
  • Buyers demanding a proven security track record
  • Anyone needing transparent published pricing

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

CVE-2024-48792 hit firmware updates; verify patched firmware before fleet deployment.

medium

Enterprise pricing is quote-only — expect sales negotiation, not published rates.

medium

Bluetooth dongles are separate purchases; per-seat hardware cost adds up.

medium

Guess: key + server + app stack creates real migration lock-in if you leave.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • FIDO2/U2F key plus password manager plus tracker at ~$49.
  • Microsoft-compatible FIDO2 vendor and FIDO Alliance member.
  • Passwordless Windows login via QR code, no hardware needed.
  • Rated 4.3/5 by experts.
  • Covers endpoints, web services, and legacy apps in one service.

Cons

  • High-severity CVE-2024-48792 (CVSS 7.5): incorrect authorization, information disclosure.
  • Essentially zero public G2 user reviews for the identity service.
  • Enterprise service pricing not publicly listed; quotes only.
  • Bluetooth-dependent operation; some setups need a separate dongle.

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/24/2026 - 13 sources - One high-severity CVE (CVSS 7.5) from 2024; no broader breach history found in sources reviewed.

official x4review x5security x2news x2
  • CVE-2024-48792, Incorrect authorization (CVSS 7.5) in a Hideez component; information disclosure via firmware update path.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • ~$49 / €50 one-time

    Starting price

  • 13

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Key is cheap at ~$49; service pricing undisclosed.
  • Ease of use. QR-code login claimed, but user feedback scarce.
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Key, password manager, authenticator app, IAM service bundled.
  • Support quality. No usable support evidence found.
  • Security posture: 2/5. High-severity authorization CVE; thin public security transparency.
  • 4.3/5 Expert rating PasswordManager.com review
  • ~$49 / €50 Hardware key price Hideez Key 4, one-time
  • 0 G2 user reviews Workforce Identity Service listing
  • CVSS 7.5 Worst CVE severity CVE-2024-48792, High

Pricing

Hideez Key 4 (hardware)

~$49 / €50 one-time

  • FIDO2/U2F security key
  • Password manager + item finder

Workforce Identity Service

Quote-based

  • Passwordless SSO and endpoint login
  • Pricing not public

Security

One high-severity CVE (CVSS 7.5) from 2024; no broader breach history found in sources reviewed.

  • CVE-2024-48792Incorrect authorization (CVSS 7.5) in a Hideez component; information disclosure via firmware update path.⁴

What users say

Expert reviews are positive (4.3/5), but user reviews are scarce; Reddit discussions mostly compare it against YubiKey.

Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources; thin on user reviews, named customers, and public pricing.

Passwordless keys + IAM for clinics and factories; overkill for individuals — one high-severity CVE, almost no public reviews.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources; thin on user reviews, named customers, and public pricing.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. security
  5. security
  6. review
  7. review
  8. official
  9. official
  10. official
  11. official
  12. news
  13. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.