shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Hiive?

Unlock private market liquidity with Hiive. The platform for VC-backed companies and shareholders, offering seamless transactions and market transparency. - hiive.com

Depends. A fit if you're an accredited investor or a shareholder of a VC-backed company who needs pre-IPO liquidity and can clear the $25,000 minimum. Skip it if you're a non-accredited retail investor or investing smaller amounts — you can't transact here.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~20 public sources: user reviews, platform comparisons, FINRA filings, and press coverage.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo direct support evidence in sources
  • Security posture

Pricing

Marketplace transaction fees

Up to 5% buyer fee on direct transfers

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesUp to 5%
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • Accredited investors buying pre-IPO shares
  • Startup employees selling vested equity
  • VC-backed companies managing shareholder liquidity
  • Buyers wanting live-bidding price discovery

Not for

  • Non-accredited retail investors — you cannot trade here
  • Anyone investing under $25,000
  • Investors needing quick, guaranteed liquidity
  • Risk-averse buyers uncomfortable with estimated private pricing

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

$25,000 minimum plus up to 5% buyer fee; compare Forge and EquityZen pricing first

medium

Listed prices are estimates, not guaranteed fills

medium

Guess: pre-IPO holdings stay illiquid until an IPO or acquisition

low

Prospective buyers report unsolicited emails pushing share purchases

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Live bidding marketplace with price transparency across pre-IPO companies
  • FINRA-registered broker-dealer
  • 4.6/5 across 95 Trustpilot reviews
  • Funds offer diversified pre-IPO exposure
  • Transaction Administration simplified Kraken's stock transfers

Cons

  • $25,000 minimum investment locks out most buyers
  • Accredited investors only
  • Buyer fees up to 5% on direct transfers
  • Buyers report awkward purchase outreach and process friction

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 11 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x6news x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • Up to 5% buyer fee on direct transfers

    Starting price

  • 11

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Up to 5% buyer fee on direct transfers
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Simpler rivals exist; live bidding takes learning
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Live bidding, funds, transaction administration
  • Support quality. No direct support evidence in sources
  • Security posture: 4/5. FINRA-registered broker-dealer, published security page
  • 4.6/5 Trustpilot rating 95 reviews
  • $25,000 Minimum investment Accredited investors only
  • Up to 5% Buyer fee On direct transfers
  • 12,000+ Users Reported by GeekWire, 2023

Pricing

Marketplace transaction fees

Up to 5% buyer fee on direct transfers

  • $25,000 minimum investment
  • Fees vary by transaction type

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Trustpilot users rate Hiive 4.6/5 while Reddit traders call it legit but flag process friction and cold outreach.

“Hiive is probably legit”
Reddit, r/personalfinance
“Forge and Hiive are both decent”
Reddit, r/investing
“I'm an accredited investor, I have an account on Hiive and Forge”
Reddit, r/private_equity

Companies that use it

Full analysis

Based on ~20 public sources: user reviews, platform comparisons, FINRA filings, and press coverage.

Legit FINRA-registered pre-IPO marketplace for accredited investors with $25k+; skip if you're retail.

Methodology

Based on ~20 public sources: user reviews, platform comparisons, FINRA filings, and press coverage.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. official
  6. Hiive Markets Form CRS (FINRA)files.brokercheck.finra.org
    official
  7. official
  8. review
  9. review
  10. news
  11. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.