shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Homey?

Smart home works better together — multi-protocol smart home hub platform - homey.app

Depends. Buy it if you're a tinkerer with many device types who wants local control and deep automation. Skip it if you just want a few bulbs and a speaker to work — that's expensive overkill.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~20 public sources; most user snippets were truncated, limiting verbatim quotes. Pricing shows no hub dollar figure in sources.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Raised June 2026; see site

Homey Pro

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
Hardware5
Homey Premium$2.99/mo
Homey Self-Hosted ServerNot listed in sources

Best for

  • Multi-protocol smart home tinkerers
  • Privacy-minded users wanting local control
  • Energy-price monitoring households
  • Homes outgrowing Alexa routines

Not for

  • Casual users with a handful of smart bulbs — expensive overkill
  • Happy Home Assistant users; free rival already does more
  • Hubitat owners — community explicitly says don't switch
  • Buyers who resent per-feature subscriptions and frequent price hikes

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

June 2026 price hike on Pro and mini — verify current price before buying

medium

Homey Premium costs $2.99/mo extra on top of hardware

medium

Some owners report regret after months; check return policy first

medium

Migrating from Hubitat or Home Assistant is non-trivial; community warns against it

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Rated best all-rounder smart hub by reviewers
  • Strong local automation processing, not cloud-dependent
  • Large third-party app ecosystem, e.g. MQTT, Aeotec
  • Five hardware tiers including self-hosted server option
  • Long-term owners report satisfaction after a year

Cons

  • Price increases announced for Pro and Pro mini
  • Long-term owner thread titled 'I Think It's a Scam'
  • Disappointing new-user setup experiences reported
  • Hubitat forum advises owners not to switch to Homey
  • Reviewer calls its skill set 'very particular' — niche fit

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/26/2026 - 9 sources - One disclosed 2020 flaw (unencrypted Wi-Fi credentials); recent CVEs in sources target an unrelated WordPress theme named Homey, not this hub.

official x1review x6security x1news x1
  • CVE-2020-9462: unencrypted Wi-Fi credential transmission, Athom Homey transmitted Wi-Fi setup credentials unencrypted during onboarding.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • Raised June 2026; see site

    Starting price

  • 9

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. June 2026 price hikes; regret threads visible
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Polished but 'very particular'; mixed onboarding reports
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Advanced Flow, wide protocols, big app store
  • Support quality: 2/5. Mixed Trustpilot; complaint threads on official forum
  • Security posture: 2/5. 2020 unencrypted Wi-Fi credential flaw disclosed
  • 4.1/5 G2 rating 52 reviews on G2
  • $2.99/mo Homey Premium add-on Subscription on top of hardware
  • $8.8M Funding Per Crunchbase profile
  • 5 Hardware tiers Cloud, Bridge, Pro, Pro mini, Self-Hosted

Pricing

Homey Pro

Raised June 2026; see site

  • Local multi-protocol hub
  • Advanced Flow automations
  • Runs devices locally

Homey Premium

$2.99/mo

  • Add-on subscription
  • Extra cloud features for Pro owners

Homey Self-Hosted Server

Not listed in sources

  • Run Homey on your own hardware

Security

One disclosed 2020 flaw (unencrypted Wi-Fi credentials); recent CVEs in sources target an unrelated WordPress theme named Homey, not this hub.

  • CVE-2020-9462: unencrypted Wi-Fi credential transmissionAthom Homey transmitted Wi-Fi setup credentials unencrypted during onboarding.⁸
Full analysis

Based on ~20 public sources; most user snippets were truncated, limiting verbatim quotes. Pricing shows no hub dollar figure in sources.

Powerful local smart-home hub for hobbyists; overkill and getting pricier for basic setups.

Methodology

Based on ~20 public sources; most user snippets were truncated, limiting verbatim quotes. Pricing shows no hub dollar figure in sources.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. news
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. security
  9. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.