shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Ignition?

Automate agreements, billing & payments - ignitionapp.com

Depends. Buy if you run a services firm on recurring retainers and want proposals-to-payment automation in one place. Freelancers and one-off invoicers should skip it — $39/month plus payment fees and no free tier.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20 public sources; several review excerpts were truncated in the data.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

from $39/month

Solo

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo

Best for

  • Accounting & bookkeeping firms
  • Agencies on recurring retainers
  • Consultants billing variable scopes
  • Xero-centric practices

Not for

  • Freelancers sending occasional one-off invoices
  • Ecommerce or product businesses
  • Anyone wanting a free invoicing tool
  • Teams allergic to per-transaction payment fees

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Users report funds held without warning, disrupting cash flow

medium

Payment processing fees apply per transaction, on top of the subscription

medium

Solo starts at $39/month; fees and plan limits change — verify before signing

medium

Cancellation is self-service; reviewers report billing friction when leaving

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Automates proposals, agreements, billing and payments end to end
  • 4.7/5 across 123 G2 reviews
  • $15.5B+ in client revenue processed through the platform
  • Used by 7,000+ businesses
  • Connects to Xero Practice Manager and Zapier

Cons

  • Trustpilot sits at 3.9 with multiple 1-star reviews
  • Complaints of client payments held without warning
  • No free plan — paid subscription after 14-day trial
  • Pushing upmarket; solo users may find it heavy

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/02/2026 - 16 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed. Publishes a security page and trust center.

official x4review x8security x2news x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • from $39/month

    Starting price

  • 16

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Payment fees and $39 base draw complaints
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Reviewers say billing automation is easy
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Proposals through payments, plus Xero and Zapier
  • Support quality: 2/5. 1-star Trustpilot reviews and unresolved complaint posts
  • Security posture: 4/5. Published trust center; no known incidents
  • 4.7/5 G2 rating 123 reviews
  • 3.9/5 Trustpilot Great — mixed individual reviews
  • $39/mo Starting price Solo plan, 14-day trial
  • 7,000+ Customers businesses on the platform

Pricing

Solo

from $39/month

  • Proposals, agreements, billing and payments automation
  • 14-day free trial
  • Payment processing fees charged separately

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

Publishes a security page and trust center.

What users say

Opinion is polarized: 4.7/5 on G2 from firms that love the automation, while Trustpilot holds at 3.9 with complaints about payment holds and billing friction.

“Ignition App holds cash from growing businesses without warning”
Facebook customer post

Companies that use it

  • Kregel & Company CPA
  • 20-20 Accounting Solutions
Full analysis

Based on 20 public sources; several review excerpts were truncated in the data.

Strong proposals-to-payments automation for service firms; pricey overkill for freelancers, with fee and fund-hold complaints.

Methodology

Based on 20 public sources; several review excerpts were truncated in the data.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. official
  8. How payment fees are calculatedsupport.ignitionapp.com
    official
  9. How To Cancel Your Accountsupport.ignitionapp.com
    official
  10. Ignition Securityignitionapp.com
    security
  11. Ignition Trust Centertrust.ignitionapp.com
    security
  12. news
  13. news
  14. official
  15. review
  16. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.