shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Indiereader Review

Depends

Should I use Indiereader?

Not disclosed - indiereader.com

· 7 hours ago

Worth it only for indie authors with a launch budget who want a credible review badge or award seal. Skip it if you expect reviews to drive sales or you are publishing on a shoestring.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 30+ public sources; pricing partly from 2013–2023 community reports

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo evidence on submission experience
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security postureNo security page or findings found

Pricing

$225

Pro Review

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
Discovery Awards entry$150–$175

Best for

  • Indie authors wanting a credible paid review
  • Books entering award season
  • Authors with a launch marketing budget

Not for

  • Authors expecting reviews to drive sales
  • Hobbyist authors with no promo budget
  • Anyone wanting guaranteed positive coverage
  • Traditionally published authors

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

A Reddit poster claims proof of AI-generated reviews; vet sample quality before paying

medium

Review, awards entry, and 'IR Approved' badge are separate paid items; costs stack fast

medium

Award entry fees criticized as steeper than comparable indie contests

low

Widely cited prices are 2013–2023 community reports; confirm current rates before submitting

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Established outlet listed in BookLife's guide to paid review services
  • Award winners get professional review plus exposure
  • Cheaper than Kirkus and BlueInk ($445) for paid indie reviews
  • Weekly Top 10 bestseller lists syndicated via Kirkus

Cons

  • Users report visibility but no automatic sales lift
  • Community thread alleges AI-written review content
  • Some authors call fees 'ridiculous' and the experience 'disappointing'
  • No free review path; every touchpoint costs money

Sources & method

- 9 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

review x5security x1news x3

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • $225

    Starting price

  • 9

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Users report visibility without sales lift
  • Ease of use. No evidence on submission experience
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Reviews, awards, bestseller lists, interviews, advice content
  • Support quality: 2/5. Kboards thread titled 'IndieReader...disappointing'
  • Security posture. No security page or findings found
  • $225 Pro review per book, Reddit-reported
  • $150–$175 Awards entry Discovery Awards submission
  • No Free tier all submissions are paid
  • Since 2011 Discovery Awards annual indie book awards

Pricing

Pro Review

$225

  • Professional review of your book
  • Usable for blurbs and marketing

Discovery Awards entry

$150–$175

  • Award contest submission
  • Winners get exposure and badge

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Mixed: authors get credibility and some visibility, but many say it rarely converts to sales and fees feel steep.

“$225 for a review and $150 for an awards submission”
Reddit, r/selfpublish
“IndieReader has an AI problem and I proved it”
Reddit, r/bookreviewers

Alternatives

Compare Indiereader with each alternative.

  • Kirkus Indie

    Prestigious paid review; bigger name, higher price

  • BlueInk Review

    $445 review with library distribution reach

    Indiereader vs BlueInk Review
  • Foreword Clarion Reviews

    Professional paid reviews for indie publishers

  • Reedsy Discovery

    Cheaper discovery reviews and reader exposure for indie books

Companies that use it

  • HWAD (Discovery Award winner)
  • Lynda Wolters, 'Voices of Cancer' (2022 winner)
Full analysis

Based on 30+ public sources; pricing partly from 2013–2023 community reports

Legit paid review outlet for indie authors; buys credibility, not sales. $225 per review, fees stack.

Methodology

Based on 30+ public sources; pricing partly from 2013–2023 community reports

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. news
  7. BlueInk Review vs. IndieReadergetmybookreviewed.com
    news
  8. news
  9. Security pageindiereader.com
    security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.