shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Instacart Review

Depends

Should I use Instacart?

Order same-day delivery or pickup from more than 300 retailers and grocers — groceries, alcohol, and home essentials delivered in as fast as 1 hour. - instacart.com

· 1 month ago

Use it when convenience beats cost — car-free households and last-minute needs get same-day delivery from 300+ retailers. Skip it for regular grocery runs: markups, stacked fees, and pricing experiments mean paying well above shelf price.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 16 public sources; several snippets were truncated, so review quotes are partial.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Pay-as-you-go

No membership; per-order fees

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Instacart+Paid subscription; trial auto-renews

Best for

  • Car-free households
  • Time-crunched parents
  • Last-minute or sick-day needs
  • Heavy bulk-item runs

Not for

  • Price-sensitive shoppers — markups and stacked fees add up
  • Regular weekly shoppers; in-store or direct pickup is cheaper
  • Privacy-wary users; customer data was listed for sale in 2020
  • Guess: small towns with thin shopper coverage

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Fees stack: delivery, service, tip; orders under $35 incur extra charges

high

AI pricing tests inflated bills; scrapped December 2025 after customer pushback

high

Repeated shopper-data incidents 2020–2025; no security page found on

medium

Instacart+ trial auto-renews into a paid subscription

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Same-day delivery in as fast as 1 hour from 300+ retailers
  • Curbside pickup option from favorite local stores
  • Broad catalog: groceries, alcohol, home essentials in one app

Cons

  • Items priced higher than in-store
  • Capterra reviewers call it overpriced
  • ConsumerAffairs reviewers do not recommend it
  • New York AG demanded answers on pricing, January 2026

Sources & method

- 16 sources - Mixed record: repeated shopper-data incidents (2020–2025); instacart.com/security returned no security page.

official x5review x5security x2news x4
  • Customer/shopper data listed for sale (2020), Data appeared for sale online; Instacart denied a customer-data breach and boosted shopper account security.
  • 2021 security update after breach warnings, Instacart issued a security update in August 2021 amid shopper breach warnings.
  • 7,500 Instacart and Shipt gig workers hacked in $30M scheme, Per Forbes report (2025), thousands of gig-worker accounts were compromised; FBI cited a $30M fraud.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • No membership; per-order fees

    Starting price

  • 16

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Markups, stacked fees, AI pricing tests
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Mature app; satisfied App Store reviewers
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Delivery, pickup, 300+ retailers, broad catalog
  • Support quality: 2/5. ConsumerAffairs and Reddit report poor outcomes
  • Security posture: 2/5. Repeated data incidents; no security page
  • 300+ Retailer coverage grocers and retailers
  • As fast as 1 hour Delivery speed or curbside pickup
  • 100 G2 reviews on G2 seller page
  • $400M Latest major funding Series D round

Pricing

Pay-as-you-go

No membership; per-order fees

  • Delivery and service fees per order
  • Extra charge on orders under $35
  • Item markups vs store prices

Instacart+

Paid subscription; trial auto-renews

  • Membership plan for frequent orders

Security

Mixed record: repeated shopper-data incidents (2020–2025); instacart.com/security returned no security page.

  • Customer/shopper data listed for sale (2020)Data appeared for sale online; Instacart denied a customer-data breach and boosted shopper account security.15
  • 2021 security update after breach warningsInstacart issued a security update in August 2021 amid shopper breach warnings.⁴
  • 7,500 Instacart and Shipt gig workers hacked in $30M schemePer Forbes report (2025), thousands of gig-worker accounts were compromised; FBI cited a $30M fraud.14

Alternatives

Compare Instacart with each alternative.

  • Shipt

    Comparable multi-retailer delivery; recommended by Instacart shoppers themselves

  • DoorDash grocery

    Now delivers groceries too; compare fees first

  • Amazon Fresh

    Grocery delivery alternative worth comparing locally

Full analysis

Based on 16 public sources; several snippets were truncated, so review quotes are partial.

Works for convenience: 1-hour delivery from 300+ retailers. But markups, stacked fees, and data incidents make it a pricey habit.

Methodology

Based on 16 public sources; several snippets were truncated, so review quotes are partial.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. Instacart homepageinstacart.com
    official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. official
  5. official
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. review
  10. review
  11. news
  12. news
  13. news
  14. security
  15. security
  16. news

Add this review to your site

This check for Instacart says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.