shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use iTutor.com?

Compare live online tutors using public profile details, subjects, credential status, availability, and current lesson rates. - itutor.com

Depends. A fit for parents and school districts wanting credentialed live online tutors for K-12 students. Skip it if you are a casual or budget learner; free and cheaper options exist.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~20 public sources; many are iTutor's own blog pages, and independent user reviews are sparse.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence in sources
  • Security posture

Pricing

From $48/class

Pay-per-class packages

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • K-12 parents wanting vetted tutors
  • School districts needing virtual instructors
  • Homeschool families needing structured classes
  • Test-prep students

Not for

  • Casual self-learners — Khan Academy is free
  • Language learners — italki fits better
  • On-demand homework help seekers — TutorMe does that
  • Buyers who need strong independent reviews before paying

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Cheapest $48/class rate applies only to longest packages; shorter commitments cost more

medium

May 2019: Tripwire reported an online tutoring program's customer data breach; company unconfirmed in snippet

medium

No public security page; the privacy policy is the only security documentation

low

All payments must process through the platform; off-platform payment prohibited

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Tutor profiles list credentials, education, availability, and current rates
  • COPPA compliance stated in marketplace terms
  • K-12 district track record with AASA Virtual School partnership
  • Published district case studies, including Alaska
  • Package-based booking with per-class rates

Cons

  • Classes start at $48; free rivals undercut pricing
  • Pricing structures change frequently, so rates need verification
  • Reddit user calls the site 'bare bones'
  • Independent reviews are sparse; much feedback is Facebook anecdotes
  • No public security page found

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/21/2026 - 12 sources - Privacy policy and COPPA compliance published; 2019 data breach report on record; no security page.

official x4review x3security x2news x3
  • 2019 customer data breach report, Tripwire reported in May 2019 that an online tutoring program disclosed a customer data breach. The reviewed snippet does not confirm which company was involved.
  • No public security page, Sources reviewed found no security page at

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • From $48/class

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Starts $48/class; free rivals undercut it
  • Ease of use: 2/5. User calls site 'bare bones'
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Credential-rich tutor profiles plus district Virtual School
  • Support quality. No support evidence in sources
  • Security posture: 2/5. 2019 breach report; no security page
  • $48/class Starting price on longest packages
  • $10M Funding raised March 2026
  • 20,000+ Reach K-12 students on Virtual School
  • #9 Employer ranking Zippia best companies to work for

Pricing

Pay-per-class packages

From $48/class

  • Live one-on-one online classes
  • Lowest rate on longest packages
  • Tutor rates visible per profile

Security

Privacy policy and COPPA compliance published; 2019 data breach report on record; no security page.

  • 2019 customer data breach reportTripwire reported in May 2019 that an online tutoring program disclosed a customer data breach. The reviewed snippet does not confirm which company was involved.⁶
  • No public security pageSources reviewed found no security page at⁵

What users say

Independent feedback is sparse and mixed: a Reddit user calls the site 'bare bones' while Facebook discussions cite 'the good and the ugly.'

“So, what's up with iTutor? I see the good and the ugly!😂”
Facebook tutoring group
“iTutor.com is a bare bones website with an empty”
Reddit, r/EnglishLearning
“Anyone with itutor? How is the company”
Facebook tutoring group

Companies that use it

  • Berkeley Heights Public Schools
  • Browning Public School District
  • Victor Elementary School District
  • Alaska school districts (Hechinger case study)11
  • AASA (Virtual School partner)10
Full analysis

Based on ~20 public sources; many are iTutor's own blog pages, and independent user reviews are sparse.

Live tutoring marketplace, vetted profiles from $48/class; strong district pedigree, thin independent reviews, 2019 breach report.

Methodology

Based on ~20 public sources; many are iTutor's own blog pages, and independent user reviews are sparse.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. official
  5. security
  6. security
  7. review
  8. review
  9. news
  10. news
  11. iTutor in Alaska case studyhechingerreport.org
    news
  12. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.