shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Java?

Java platform and runtime from Oracle - java.com

Depends. Java the platform remains solid and in demand, but you rarely need to pay for it. Only buy an Oracle subscription if you're enterprise-scale and want vendor support; everyone else should run free OpenJDK builds.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 25+ public sources: Reddit threads, G2, Oracle docs, NIST/NVD, and licensing analyses.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support-quality evidence in sources
  • Security posture

Pricing

Free

OpenJDK builds

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Java SE Universal Subscription$5.25/employee/mo (tiered)

Best for

  • Enterprise backend systems
  • Teams with existing Java codebases
  • High-traffic, long-lived applications
  • Financial services infrastructure

Not for

  • Hobbyists — free OpenJDK covers you; never pay Oracle for this
  • Startups wanting fast iteration — the JVM stack is heavy
  • Teams without ops capacity for Oracle license audits
  • Small apps — lighter languages fit better

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Oracle's per-employee pricing counts all staff, not just developers — costs balloon at scale.

high

Oracle actively pursues companies for unlicensed Java use; audits trigger back-charges.

medium

Commercial use of Oracle JDK requires a paid subscription; only personal use stays free.

medium

Licensing terms have shifted repeatedly, forcing costly re-reviews and migrations.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Mature, widely deployed platform still in demand in 2025
  • Free OpenJDK distributions available from multiple vendors
  • Drop-in Oracle replacements exist, easing vendor exit
  • Strong ecosystem of IDEs and developer tooling
  • Vendor-backed security resources and patching program

Cons

  • Oracle licensing is complex and audit-prone
  • Revised license terms proved 2-5x more expensive
  • Per-employee pricing punishes companies with many staff
  • Mass migration away from Oracle Java over licensing
  • Recurring Oracle Java SE CVEs demand prompt patching

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/02/2026 - 7 sources - Actively maintained, but Oracle Java SE carries recurring CVEs requiring prompt patching.

official x3review x2security x1news x1
  • CVE-2025-21587, Oracle Java SE vulnerability tracked by NIST, published April 2025.
  • CVE-2026-34268, Information disclosure vulnerability in Oracle Java SE.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • Free

    Starting price

  • 7

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Free OpenJDK undercuts Oracle's pricey subscription.
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Community threads criticize verbosity and learning curve.
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Mature platform with decades of libraries and tooling.
  • Support quality. No support-quality evidence in sources
  • Security posture: 3/5. Recurring CVEs, but actively patched by Oracle.
  • $5.25/employee/mo Oracle Java SE price Java SE Universal Subscription tier, 2026
  • Yes Free option OpenJDK builds cost nothing
  • 86% Oracle Java users leaving cited in Reddit-reported migration coverage
  • 12,276 Java EE adopters companies tracked by TheirStack

Pricing

OpenJDK builds

Free

  • Open-source runtime
  • Optional vendor support plans

Java SE Universal Subscription

$5.25/employee/mo (tiered)

  • Oracle updates and support
  • Covers entire employee count

Security

Actively maintained, but Oracle Java SE carries recurring CVEs requiring prompt patching.

  • CVE-2025-21587Oracle Java SE vulnerability tracked by NIST, published April 2025.
  • CVE-2026-34268Information disclosure vulnerability in Oracle Java SE.⁵

What users say

Developers respect Java's maturity and continued job demand but criticize verbosity and Oracle's licensing.

Full analysis

Based on 25+ public sources: Reddit threads, G2, Oracle docs, NIST/NVD, and licensing analyses.

Free as OpenJDK, costly as Oracle. Strong for big backends; small teams should pick lighter tools.

Methodology

Based on 25+ public sources: Reddit threads, G2, Oracle docs, NIST/NVD, and licensing analyses.

Sources

  1. news
  2. official
  3. official
  4. review
  5. security
  6. official
  7. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.