shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Kogan?

Australian online retailer for electronics, appliances, mobiles and more - kogan.com

Depends. Kogan is a legitimate ASX-listed retailer with sharp prices — fine for low-risk buys where you already know the item's normal price. Avoid it for phones, appliances, or anything where refunds, warranty support, and honest discounting matter.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~20 public sources: regulator actions, news investigations, and shopper reviews.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo reliable usability evidence in sources.
  • Feature depthRetailer, not software; depth not assessable.
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

Free account

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Kogan FirstAUD $129/year

Best for

  • Deal-hunting Australian shoppers
  • Kogan-branded electronics on a budget
  • Frequent buyers who'll actually use Kogan First

Not for

  • Anyone likely to need a refund or warranty claim
  • Phone and laptop buyers — CHOICE community warnings
  • People who hate auto-renewing paid memberships
  • Privacy-wary shoppers tired of marketing email blasts

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Kogan First auto-renews at $129/year; users report unwanted charges and cancellation friction

high

ACCC court action alleges misleading 'was/now' discount pricing on the site

medium

Marketplace refunds are harder; shoppers report refused refunds and slow support

medium

Fined for emailing 42M people without consent; expect heavy marketing follow-up

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Legitimate, ASX-listed Australian retailer with millions of customers
  • Kogan First ($129/yr) bundles free shipping and exclusive pricing
  • Automates 67% of customer inquiries with AI per Salesforce case study
  • Runs enterprise-grade search and ERP infrastructure per vendor case studies
  • Broad portfolio: electronics, mobiles, even energy under one brand

Cons

  • ACCC took Kogan to court over allegedly false discount advertising
  • Fined $310,800 for spamming 42 million emails
  • Shoppers report refused refunds and poor customer service
  • CHOICE flags Kogan-brand products to avoid; community warns on phones
  • ABC found a 'clone' site selling identical products at different prices

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/30/2026 - 10 sources - No known breaches; ACMA fined Kogan $310,800 in 2021 for spam-law breaches.

official x1review x5news x4
  • ACMA spam-law fine, Fined $310,800 for sending 42 million marketing emails without consent (2021).

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Sharp prices; discount claims drew ACCC court action.
  • Ease of use. No reliable usability evidence in sources.
  • Feature depth. Retailer, not software; depth not assessable.
  • Support quality: 2/5. Refund refusals and support complaints dominate reviews.
  • Security posture: 3/5. No breaches found; fined for spam-law breaches.
  • AUD $129/yr Kogan First membership Annual: free shipping, exclusive prices
  • $310,800 ACMA spam fine Penalty for 42M unsolicited emails (2021)
  • ASX: KGN Stock listing Publicly traded Australian e-commerce group
  • Millions Customer base Active customers reported

Pricing

Free account

$0

  • Shop all products
  • Standard shipping rates

Kogan First

AUD $129/year

  • Free shipping
  • Exclusive member prices

Security

No known breaches; ACMA fined Kogan $310,800 in 2021 for spam-law breaches.

  • ACMA spam-law fineFined $310,800 for sending 42 million marketing emails without consent (2021).⁷

What users say

Shoppers are split: prices draw praise, while reviews repeatedly cite poor after-sales service, refund refusals, and subscription complaints.

“Kogan refused a refund”
Reddit, r/australia
“Deceptive company”
Google Play review
Full analysis

Based on ~20 public sources: regulator actions, news investigations, and shopper reviews.

Legit Aussie discount retailer: sharp prices, but subscription traps, refund fights, and regulator run-ins. Know before you click.

Methodology

Based on ~20 public sources: regulator actions, news investigations, and shopper reviews.

Sources

  1. official
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. news
  7. news
  8. news
  9. Kogan.com — Wikipediaen.wikipedia.org
    news
  10. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.