shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Kumon?

After-school math and reading programs - kumon.com

Depends. Buy for kids who need math fact fluency and will tolerate daily worksheet repetition without resistance. Skip it if your child hates rote drills, needs concept teaching, or $150–$200/month per subject strains the budget.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 25+ public sources: Reddit parent threads, Trustpilot, third-party pricing guides, an NBER working paper, and Kumon's official pages.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$150–$200/month

Monthly tuition (per subject)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
Initial enrollment~$680 quoted (anecdotal)

Best for

  • Math fact-fluency gaps
  • Kids who thrive on daily routine
  • Accelerating ahead of grade level
  • Self-motivated learners

Not for

  • Kids who hate repetitive worksheets
  • Families wanting concept teaching, not drills
  • Budgets under $150/month per subject
  • Parents wanting low-commitment, flexible schedules

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Centers are franchised, so instruction quality and manager responsiveness differ by location

medium

Registration and materials fees stack on tuition; one parent reported a $680 start

medium

No published pricing; tuition varies by location and level — call ahead

medium

Repetition-heavy structure drives dropouts; quitting early means sunk fees

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Structured daily worksheet method with decades of academic use
  • Case-study evidence supports benefits for gifted students
  • Individualized pacing; kids advance after mastering each level
  • Operates 60+ years across 48 countries — stable and widespread

Cons

  • Highly repetitive worksheets; the top parent complaint
  • Trustpilot customer rating sits at just 2.0/5
  • Many parents actively debate whether it's worth the cost
  • Quality varies center to center, per parent reports
  • Drills over concept teaching; weak fit for struggling comprehenders

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/22/2026 - 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x6security x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • $150–$200/month

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Many parents question whether results justify the cost
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Rigid daily routine demands consistent parent oversight
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Deep math and reading levels, narrow subject range
  • Support quality: 2/5. Trustpilot 2.0/5; franchise quality varies by center
  • Security posture: 3/5. No known vulnerabilities; no public security page found
  • 2.0/5 Trustpilot rating 14 reviews
  • $150–$200/mo Typical cost Per subject; varies by center
  • 1954 Founded By Toru Kumon in Japan
  • 48 countries Reach Franchise learning centers worldwide

Pricing

Monthly tuition (per subject)

$150–$200/month

  • Varies by center and level
  • No published national pricing

Initial enrollment

~$680 quoted (anecdotal)

  • Registration, materials, initial months
  • One parent's reported start cost on Reddit

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

Full analysis

Based on 25+ public sources: Reddit parent threads, Trustpilot, third-party pricing guides, an NBER working paper, and Kumon's official pages.

Daily worksheet drills that build math fluency; $150–$200/mo per subject. Great for routine-lovers, misery for repetition-haters.

Methodology

Based on 25+ public sources: Reddit parent threads, Trustpilot, third-party pricing guides, an NBER working paper, and Kumon's official pages.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. Kumon FAQskumon.com
    official
  7. official
  8. Kumon historykumonfranchising.com
    official
  9. security
  10. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.