shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

LeanLaw Review

Depends

Should I use LeanLaw?

See how LeanLaw connects legal billing, trust accounting, and QuickBooks Online. Explore your law firm's workflow in a personalized demo. - leanlaw.co

· 12 hours ago

Buy it if your firm already runs on QuickBooks Online and needs legal-grade billing plus trust accounting without switching accounting systems. Skip it if you want all-in-one practice management, don't use QuickBooks, or bill casually as a solo.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 14 public sources: review sites, Reddit threads, pricing trackers, and vendor pages. Quotes are verbatim snippets and appear truncated at source.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence in sources.
  • Security posture

Pricing

from $45/user/mo

Starter (per user)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • Small to mid-sized law firms
  • Firms already on QuickBooks Online
  • Billing- and trust-accounting-heavy practices

Not for

  • Firms not already on QuickBooks Online
  • Anyone wanting all-in-one case management in one tool
  • Large firms needing enterprise practice management suites
  • Solos who can live with plain QuickBooks invoicing

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Third-party sources list different starting prices ($45–$55/user/mo); confirm current tiers before buying

medium

Total cost is LeanLaw per seat plus a QuickBooks Online subscription — budget for both

medium

Billing lives outside practice management; syncing matters with case tools takes extra setup

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Deep native QuickBooks Online integration for legal timekeeping and billing
  • Purpose-built trust accounting module
  • Positioned specifically for small and mid-sized firms
  • Rated 7.9/10 in independent 2026 review
  • NetDocuments integration creates unified legal workflow

Cons

  • Requires a QuickBooks Online subscription — not all-in-one
  • Per-user pricing stacks on top of QuickBooks costs
  • No full case management; needs separate practice tools
  • Reviewers cite challenges when modernizing from legacy billing

Sources & method

- 12 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x6security x1news x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • from $45/user/mo

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Per-user fees stack on required QuickBooks subscription.
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Reviewers describe intuitive billing workflows.
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Deep billing and trust features, no case management.
  • Support quality. No support evidence in sources.
  • Security posture: 4/5. Publishes security whitepaper; no public vulnerabilities found.
  • 7.9/10 MakerStack rating 2026 independent review
  • $45/user/mo Starting price third-party sources cite $45–$55
  • $4M Series A Funding raised March 2023

Pricing

Starter (per user)

from $45/user/mo

  • Legal billing on QuickBooks Online
  • Trust accounting
  • Reporting

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Reddit law-firm communities frequently recommend LeanLaw as an alternative to MyCase, especially for QuickBooks-based firms.

“Check out LeanLaw.co”
Reddit, r/LawFirm
“LeanLaw is a unique option”
Reddit, r/LawFirmAccounting
“Check out LeanLaw”
Reddit, r/msp

Companies that use it

  • Pursuit Legal
Full analysis

Based on 14 public sources: review sites, Reddit threads, pricing trackers, and vendor pages. Quotes are verbatim snippets and appear truncated at source.

Solid QuickBooks-native billing and trust accounting for small/mid law firms; skip if you want all-in-one practice management.

Methodology

Based on 14 public sources: review sites, Reddit threads, pricing trackers, and vendor pages. Quotes are verbatim snippets and appear truncated at source.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. official
  5. official
  6. official
  7. news
  8. review
  9. security
  10. review
  11. review
  12. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.