shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Learning Ally?

Human-narrated audiobooks for students with dyslexia, learning differences, blindness, and low vision. A proven accommodation, trusted since 1948. - learningally.org

Depends. Buy it if your student has a documented reading disability or vision loss and reads daily — the human narration is the point. Skip it if you just want general audiobooks or cannot qualify.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources; exact dollar pricing not disclosed in the evidence reviewed.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support-quality evidence found
  • Security posture

Pricing

Annual fee (see site)

Family Membership

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
Schools & DistrictsCustom quote

Best for

  • Students with documented dyslexia
  • Blind and low-vision readers
  • Schools with assistive-tech budgets
  • IEP/504 accommodation plans

Not for

  • Casual audiobook listeners
  • Anyone without a qualifying disability
  • Families needing free options (TTS, Libby)
  • General ed classrooms without reading accommodations

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Annual membership; cost is the most common complaint. Check school or grant funding first.

medium

You must document a qualifying disability — no self-signup for general readers.

medium

App friction pushes users to pair it with Voice Dream Reader or Libby.

medium

No public security page found; districts should request security docs before rollout.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Human-narrated audiobooks built for dyslexia, blindness, and low vision
  • Endorsed by the Council of Administrators of Special Education (CASE)
  • Operating since 1948 as a nonprofit
  • State grant programs can cover school memberships
  • Free iOS and Android apps included with membership

Cons

  • Android app rated just 3.3/5 across 737 reviews
  • Reviewers flag the membership cost
  • Requires documented disability to qualify
  • Users often add third-party apps like Voice Dream Reader

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x4review x6

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • Annual fee (see site)

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Cost criticized, but many families still say worth it
  • Ease of use: 3/5. 3.3/5 on Google Play; playback friction reported
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Human narration plus Clever school integration
  • Support quality. No support-quality evidence found
  • Security posture: 3/5. No known issues; no public security page found
  • 3.3/5 Android rating 737 Google Play reviews
  • 1948 Founded Nonprofit, 75+ years
  • No Free tier Membership required
  • Annual Membership Family and school plans

Pricing

Family Membership

Annual fee (see site)

  • Human-narrated audiobook library
  • iOS and Android apps
  • For qualifying readers in one household

Schools & Districts

Not disclosed

  • Bulk student access
  • Clever rostering integration
  • State grant funding available

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

Companies that use it

  • Mort Elementary
  • Mitchell County School District
  • De Soto Parish Public Schools
  • Madison City Schools (AL)
  • Keenan Elementary School
Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources; exact dollar pricing not disclosed in the evidence reviewed.

Worth it for students with documented dyslexia or vision loss; casual audiobook listeners should look elsewhere.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources; exact dollar pricing not disclosed in the evidence reviewed.

Sources

  1. Learning Ally homepagelearningally.org
    official
  2. Learning Ally Pricinglearningally.org
    official
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. official
  9. State Grant Programslearningally.org
    official
  10. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.