shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Adobe Lightroom?

Photo editing and organizing for desktop, web, and mobile - lightroom.adobe.com

Depends. Buy if you edit and organize photos at volume — it is the pro standard with deep workflow tooling. Skip if you shoot casually: subscription-only pricing, repeated hikes, and free alternatives cover basic needs.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 40+ public sources; several review snippets were truncated in capture.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence found
  • Security posture

Pricing

From $9.99/mo

Lightroom plan

ModelSubscription only
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes

Best for

  • Working photographers
  • Large-catalog organization
  • Cross-device editing
  • Wedding/event batch editing

Not for

  • Casual snappers editing a few photos a month
  • Anyone wanting a one-time purchase
  • Privacy-sensitive users avoiding cloud sync
  • Budget buyers after the 2026 price hikes

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Catalog lock-in: migrating libraries to Capture One or others is painful

high

Guess: canceling ends software access; export cloud photos before leaving

medium

1TB Lightroom plan pricing changed September 2026 — verify current rate before subscribing

medium

Privacy-minded users raise concerns about cloud sync and Adobe's terms

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Industry-standard RAW editing and photo workflow
  • Syncs edits across desktop, web, and mobile
  • Large tutorial library and active community
  • App Store listing calls it an essential photo editor

Cons

  • Subscription-only; no perpetual license option
  • Users report their plan cost doubled
  • Steep learning curve; reviewer titled it 'Not For Everyone'
  • Photographers actively leaving for alternatives

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/27/2026 - 11 sources - Actively patched, but four 2026 CVEs including RCE and auth bypass — keep the app updated.

official x2review x6security x2news x1
  • CVE-2026-48408 — RCE, Remote code execution vulnerability in Adobe Lightroom, disclosed August 2026.
  • CVE-2026-48447 — Auth bypass, Authentication bypass vulnerability in Adobe Lightroom, disclosed August 2026.
  • APSB26-94 security bulletin, Adobe security update for Lightroom, August 2026.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • From $9.99/mo

    Starting price

  • 11

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Frequent hikes; users report plan cost doubled
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Powerful but steep curve; review says 'not for everyone'
  • Feature depth: 5/5. Top-rated photo workflow and RAW editor
  • Support quality. No support evidence found
  • Security posture: 2/5. Multiple 2026 CVEs; regular patching required
  • $9.99/mo Starting price legacy rate; 1TB plan changed Sep 2026
  • Yes Free tier limited features on mobile
  • Subscription only License model no perpetual license
  • 4 2026 CVEs cited incl. RCE and auth bypass

Pricing

Lightroom plan

From $9.99/mo

  • Desktop, web, and mobile apps
  • Cloud storage (1TB plan rate rose Sep 2026)

Security

Actively patched, but four 2026 CVEs including RCE and auth bypass — keep the app updated.

  • CVE-2026-48408 — RCERemote code execution vulnerability in Adobe Lightroom, disclosed August 2026.10
  • CVE-2026-48447 — Auth bypassAuthentication bypass vulnerability in Adobe Lightroom, disclosed August 2026.
  • APSB26-94 security bulletinAdobe security update for Lightroom, August 2026.⁹

What users say

Long-time users value the editing depth but complain loudly about subscription pricing, hikes, and lock-in.

“We Don't Want This Subscription Based Service Adobe”
Reddit, r/Lightroom
“Adobe pretty much just doubled the cost of my Lightroom”
Reddit, r/Lightroom
“Does everyone just pay?”
Reddit, r/Lightroom
Full analysis

Based on 40+ public sources; several review snippets were truncated in capture.

Industry-standard photo editing, but subscription price hikes and lock-in make casual users better off elsewhere.

Methodology

Based on 40+ public sources; several review snippets were truncated in capture.

Sources

  1. review
  2. Adobe Lightroom review (2025)lifeafterphotoshop.com
    review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. news
  7. official
  8. official
  9. security
  10. security
  11. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.