shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Little Bear Sees?

Helping children with cortical visual impairment (CVI) learn to see - littlebearsees.org

Worth it. If you're a parent, relative, or early-intervention therapist of a young child with CVI, use it — the resources are free and widely trusted. Organizations expecting a supported software product should not; this is a tiny nonprofit resource site, not a vendor.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources: Reddit threads, App Store listing, book retailers, education authority sites, and Crunchbase.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityOnly newsletter contact; no support evidence
  • Security postureNo findings, but no security page published

Pricing

Free

Website & resources

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Book (paperback/audiobook)Paid — varies by retailer
iPad appsLite free; Deluxe paid

Best for

  • Parents of kids newly diagnosed with CVI
  • Early intervention and toddler-age settings
  • TVIs and speech therapists wanting family handouts

Not for

  • Organizations wanting supported software with SLAs
  • Clinical teams needing validated assessment tools
  • Kids beyond early childhood — content skews toddler
  • Android-only households — apps are iPad-only

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Deluxe app is a commercial product — verify device compatibility before paying

medium

Site content mostly dates 2012–2020; confirm advice is still current best practice

low

No published security page, yet the donation page takes card details

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free CVI explainers, printable handouts, and curated resource lists
  • Praised across Reddit by blind, epilepsy, and SLP communities
  • Developed two iPad apps designed specifically for CVI learners
  • Referenced by education authorities in the US and UK
  • Called an excellent starting point by CVI specialist sites

Cons

  • Crunchbase shows just $24.7K this year — very small operation
  • App ratings are thin: 3.9/5 from only 7 ratings
  • Flagship book dates to 2012; CVI practice has moved since
  • No security page found on the website
  • Apps are iPad-only; no Android option

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 13 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x5review x6security x1news x1

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.