
Should I use Lodima?
Lodima Press Books, Archival Materials, and silver-chloride contact printing paper - lodima.org
Depends. A specialist buy: Lodima makes premium silver-chloride contact printing paper and fine-art photo books, and darkroom forums revere both. Skip entirely if you shoot digital or print with an enlarger — there is nothing here for you.
Confidence
Medium. Based on ~25 public sources: analog photography forums, Lodima's own shop pages, and book listings.
Ratings
- Value for money
- Ease of use
- Feature depthPhysical product; not applicable
- Support qualitySmall shop; no review evidence
- Security postureShop website; no findings either way
Pricing
$29.95
Portfolio Books subscription
ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
Silver chloride paperSee shop
Archival matboard (20x24)$10.00 top sheet price
Best for
- →Large-format contact printers
- →Fine-art photo book collectors
- →Azo-style printing devotees
- →Archival framers needing overmats
Not for
- ×Digital-only photographers — darkroom paper is dead weight for you
- ×Enlarger users — this paper is contact printing only, no enlargements
- ×Split-grade printers — Heiland systems reportedly fail on it
- ×Anyone expecting software — this is paper, books, and matboard
Gotchas - check before you buy
medium
Produced in small limited runs that sell out; buy when announced
medium
Expired stock circulates from resellers; check dates before buying
low
No paper price visible on reviewed pages; confirm in the shop first
low
Digital services priced per flat quote — 'variables are endless' means budget surprises
Pros and cons
Pros
- +Forums rank it among the best contact printing papers available
- +Built as the replacement for the beloved discontinued Kodak Azo
- +Long-running publisher of respected fine art photography books
- +One-stop archival supplies: matboard, custom overmats, foam core
Cons
- −Contact printing only — no enlargements possible
- −Split-grade systems reportedly incompatible
- −Limited runs; sporadic availability forces stockpiling
- −Needs amidol developer and UV source; unforgiving workflow
- −Digital services have no published rates
Sources & method
Analyzed 10/05/2026 - 12 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.
official x4review x5security x1news x2
Comments
One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.
No comments yet.