shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Maestro (mobile.dev)?

Painless E2E automation for mobile apps - maestro.mobile.dev

Worth it. Buy if you build mobile apps: the core framework is free, open-source, and positioned as simpler than Appium. Skip the paid cloud until you've priced it — users call it expensive.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~10 usable public sources. Search results mixed with unrelated 'Maestro' products (2023 film, hotel PMS, Kinaxis, ERP, security frameworks); unrelated CVEs and reviews were excluded.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depthNo usable feature-depth evidence
  • Support qualityNo support-quality evidence found
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

Open source

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
CloudPaid; pricing not shown in evidence

Best for

  • Mobile app teams shipping iOS & Android
  • React Native / Expo developers
  • Startups wanting free E2E testing
  • Teams migrating off Appium

Not for

  • Guess: web-only teams — Maestro targets mobile apps
  • Budget-sensitive teams needing large device farms — cloud pricing draws 'insane' complaints
  • Buyers wanting turnkey enterprise QA with support contracts
  • Anyone shopping the unrelated Maestros (hotel PMS, Kinaxis, mortgage AI)

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Users call cloud pricing 'insane' and hunt alternatives — model your costs first

medium

Third parties ship faster runners; benchmark speed on your own suite

medium

Open-source core vs paid cloud split — confirm which features need payment

low

Device farm choices (BrowserStack vs own devices) add cost complexity

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free, open-source core keeps entry cost at zero
  • Positioned as painless mobile E2E automation
  • Vendor publishes Appium comparison for React Native testing
  • Named customer case study exists (Doccla)

Cons

  • Cloud pricing widely criticized by users
  • Community built faster iOS alternatives, citing speed gaps
  • Paid cloud plan needed beyond the open-source core

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/30/2026 - 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x5review x4security x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Free open-source core; cloud pricing criticized
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Marketed painless; compared favorably to Appium
  • Feature depth. No usable feature-depth evidence
  • Support quality. No support-quality evidence found
  • Security posture: 4/5. Publishes security page; no known CVEs
  • Yes Free tier Free, open-source core
  • $0 Starting price Paid cloud plan is optional
  • 1 Public case studies Doccla, mobile app testing
  • Unverified User rating G2 listings ambiguous vs other 'Maestro' products

Pricing

Open source

$0

  • Core CLI and test flows
  • Local test runs

Cloud

Paid; pricing not shown in evidence

  • Managed cloud test runs

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Mobile developers like the framework's simplicity but gripe loudly about cloud pricing.

“Maestro pricing is insane. Alternatives?”
Reddit, r/expo
“We open-sourced a faster alternative to Maestro for iOS UI”
Reddit, r/iOSProgramming

Companies that use it

Full analysis

Based on ~10 usable public sources. Search results mixed with unrelated 'Maestro' products (2023 film, hotel PMS, Kinaxis, ERP, security frameworks); unrelated CVEs and reviews were excluded.

Free open-source mobile E2E testing, easier than Appium — but check cloud pricing before committing.

Methodology

Based on ~10 usable public sources. Search results mixed with unrelated 'Maestro' products (2023 film, hotel PMS, Kinaxis, ERP, security frameworks); unrelated CVEs and reviews were excluded.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. security
  5. official
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. official
  10. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.