shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Makerkit?

Next.js SaaS Starter Kit & Boilerplate - makerkit.dev

Depends. Buy it if you're a developer building a multi-tenant B2B SaaS on Next.js and want billing, auth, and teams prebuilt. Skip it if you're non-technical, shipping a simple MVP, or not committed to TypeScript.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~20 public sources. Most review snippets were truncated, so user quotes are short fragments; pricing comes from a third-party 2026 review.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

From $299 one-time

Base license

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes

Best for

  • Solo founders building B2B SaaS
  • Multi-tenant apps with team billing
  • + Supabase developers
  • Devs tired of rebuilding auth and Stripe

Not for

  • Non-coders — you get a codebase, not a product
  • Simple MVPs where a lighter or free starter suffices
  • Teams not committed to and TypeScript
  • Anyone expecting finished features — you still build the app

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Commercial license restricts usage — read terms before client or resale work

medium

Kit flavors diverge; buying the wrong stack means rework later

medium

Dedicated v3 upgrade guide signals real migration effort between major versions

low

Product security page returns 404; security docs buried per-kit

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Subscriptions and per-seat team billing pre-built
  • Multi-tenant architecture with row-level security documented
  • Four stack variants: Supabase, Prisma, TanStack Start, Better Auth
  • Updated very frequently per user reports
  • Free open-source Lite version to evaluate before paying

Cons

  • Pricier than most boilerplate rivals at $299+
  • Huge codebase; steep learning curve for newcomers
  • Major version upgrades (v2 to v3) require migration work
  • Vocal camp says don't pay for boilerplates at all

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/26/2026 - 12 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x5review x5security x1news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • From $299 one-time

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Deep features, but priced above many rivals
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Reviews say setup is straightforward
  • Feature depth: 5/5. Billing, auth, multi-tenancy, multiple stacks included
  • Support quality: 4/5. Users report very frequent updates
  • Security posture: 4/5. RLS and security guides documented; no known vulns
  • $299 Starting price one-time license (2026 review)
  • Yes Free option open-source Lite kit on GitHub
  • 49-81 hrs Time saved (vendor claim) per project, vendor marketing
  • 4+ Kit variants Supabase, Prisma, TanStack, Better Auth

Pricing

Base license

From $299 one-time

  • Commercial license
  • Full starter kit source code

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Reviews and Reddit threads praise MakerKit's completeness and update cadence, though some flag its high price for a code template.

“Makerkit is updated *eve”
Reddit, r/SaaS
“MakerKit is highly prais”
Product Hunt reviews
“Makerkit makes the setup”
SaaSvial review, 2024

Companies that use it

  • ChatFlow
Full analysis

Based on ~20 public sources. Most review snippets were truncated, so user quotes are short fragments; pricing comes from a third-party 2026 review.

$299 Next.js SaaS boilerplate — great for multi-tenant B2B builds, overkill for simple MVPs, useless for non-coders.

Methodology

Based on ~20 public sources. Most review snippets were truncated, so user quotes are short fragments; pricing comes from a third-party 2026 review.

Sources

  1. official
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. official
  8. official
  9. security
  10. news
  11. official
  12. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.