shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Markdown Guide?

A free and open-source reference guide that explains how to use Markdown. - markdownguide.org

Worth it. Use it if you write Markdown anywhere — it is free, accurate, and the reference most company handbooks point to. Skip it if you wanted a tool: it explains syntax but does not render, edit, or enforce anything.

Confidence

High. Based on 40+ public sources: official guide pages, handbook citations, one blog book review, and retail listings.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support channels mentioned in sources.
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

Website

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
The Markdown Guide (book)Paid — price not shown in sources

Best for

  • Newcomers learning Markdown syntax
  • Developers writing READMEs and docs
  • Reddit and Obsidian users
  • Teams standardizing documentation formatting

Not for

  • Anyone wanting an editor, renderer, or linter — this teaches, it does nothing
  • Teams needing enforced style rules rather than a reading reference
  • Experienced Markdown writers; the cheat sheet alone suffices
  • Buyers expecting support, SLAs, or a security page

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Generic Markdown differs across renderers — check the tool-specific page for your app.

low

Nothing to purchase here; only the separate print/ebook edition costs money.

low

No security page; fine for a static reference, but no published security posture.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Completely free; no signup or paywall on the site.
  • Cheat sheet puts everyday syntax on one page.
  • Cited across company handbooks like GitLab's.
  • Tool-specific guides for Reddit and other platforms.
  • Covers advanced techniques and hacks beyond basics.

Cons

  • Reference only — no editing, rendering, or tooling included.
  • Generic syntax advice may not match your app's Markdown flavor.
  • No published security page for the site itself.
  • Thin independent review footprint — 26 Goodreads reviews total.

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/21/2026 - 7 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x5review x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 5/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 7

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 5/5. Entirely free; only the print book costs money.
  • Ease of use: 5/5. Plain language plus a one-page cheat sheet.
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Basics, extended syntax, hacks, tool-specific pages.
  • Support quality. No support channels mentioned in sources.
  • Security posture: 4/5. Static content site; no issues reported, no security page.
  • $0 Price Full site free; open-source on GitHub
  • 26 Book reviews Goodreads ratings for the print edition
  • 60 pages Book length Condensed learn-Markdown edition
  • Open Source code mattcone/markdown-guide on GitHub

Pricing

Website

$0

  • Full basic and extended syntax reference
  • Cheat sheet and hacks pages
  • Tool-specific guides

The Markdown Guide (book)

Paid — price not shown in sources

  • Learn Markdown in 60 pages
  • Paperback sold via retailers

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

Alternatives

Compare Markdown Guide with each alternative.

Companies that use it

  • FlowFuse

Companies that could

  • Google Uses Internal Markdown style guide instead
  • GitLab⁴ Uses Own handbook Markdown guide instead
  • IONOS Uses Own published Markdown guide instead
  • iA Writer Uses Own Markdown guide for its apps instead
Full analysis

Based on 40+ public sources: official guide pages, handbook citations, one blog book review, and retail listings.

Free Markdown reference site, not software. Bookmark it; the only cost is the optional 60-page book.

Methodology

Based on 40+ public sources: official guide pages, handbook citations, one blog book review, and retail listings.

Sources

  1. official
  2. Markdown Cheat Sheetmarkdownguide.org
    official
  3. official
  4. official
  5. review
  6. review
  7. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.