shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Atlassian Marketplace?

Browse the top Marketplace apps and integrations for Jira, Confluence, Bitbucket & other Atlassian apps. Free 30-day trial for all Marketplace apps. - marketplace.atlassian.com

Depends. This is a storefront, not a product — it only matters if you already run Jira or Confluence. If you do, it's the default place to extend them, but judge each app individually: costs stack per user and quality varies widely.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~14 public sources; several are vendor-authored blogs and snippets are truncated, so user-sentiment evidence is thin.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depthDepends entirely on the individual app
  • Support qualityVendor-dependent; no evidence either way
  • Security posture

Pricing

Varies by app and user tier

Per-app, per-user

ModelPer-user tiers
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • Teams already on Jira or Confluence
  • Admins adding time tracking, testing or reporting
  • Enterprises extending Atlassian workflows
  • Shoppers testing apps via the 30-day trial

Not for

  • Teams not using Atlassian products
  • Small teams hoping one app fixes a messy process
  • Buyers wanting one vendor to hold accountable
  • Orgs unwilling to security-vet each third-party app

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Cloud app pricing scales with your user tier — big teams pay far more per app

high

Server-to-Cloud migrations strand Data Center apps; check cloud alternatives before migrating

medium

Multiple org instances can change what apps cost on enterprise plans

medium

Read app reviews critically — paid-review complaints have surfaced publicly

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free 30-day trial on every Marketplace app
  • Single catalog for extending Jira, Confluence and Bitbucket
  • App billing consolidates through your Atlassian account
  • Atlassian enforces security requirements and bug-fix policies for cloud apps
  • Bug bounty program covers Atlassian-built apps

Cons

  • Every app adds per-user cost on top of Atlassian licenses
  • App usage across the Marketplace is declining
  • Paid-review accusations undermine trust in app ratings
  • Third-party apps carry their own security and support risk
  • Enterprise multi-instance deployments complicate app costs

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/22/2026 - 10 sources - No known Marketplace-platform breach found in sources; Atlassian products themselves have had patched CVEs, and each third-party app carries its own risk.

official x4review x4security x1news x1
  • CVE-2023-22523 — RCE in Assets Discovery, Remote code execution vulnerability in an Atlassian-distributed discovery tool; patched by Atlassian. Affects Atlassian software, not third-party Marketplace apps.
  • CVE-2021-44228 (Log4Shell) investigation, Atlassian ran an ecosystem-wide investigation into the Log4j vulnerability affecting its products and apps.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • Varies by app and user tier

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Per-user app costs stack on top of Atlassian licenses
  • Ease of use: 4/5. One-click installs, 30-day trials, consolidated billing
  • Feature depth. Depends entirely on the individual app
  • Support quality. Vendor-dependent; no evidence either way
  • Security posture: 3/5. App security policies and bug bounty exist; third-party risk remains
  • 4.3/5 Jira G2 rating Jira on G2, per RFP.wiki 2026 comparison
  • 30 days Free trial Offered on all Marketplace apps
  • Per-user tiers Pricing model Each app priced separately, billed via Atlassian
  • Declining App usage trend Per 2024-25 industry analysis of the Marketplace

Pricing

Per-app, per-user

Varies by app and user tier

  • Free 30-day trial on all apps
  • Billed through your Atlassian account, monthly or annual
  • Enterprise multi-instance pricing calculated separately

Security

No known Marketplace-platform breach found in sources; Atlassian products themselves have had patched CVEs, and each third-party app carries its own risk.

  • CVE-2023-22523 — RCE in Assets DiscoveryRemote code execution vulnerability in an Atlassian-distributed discovery tool; patched by Atlassian. Affects Atlassian software, not third-party Marketplace apps.⁵
  • CVE-2021-44228 (Log4Shell) investigationAtlassian ran an ecosystem-wide investigation into the Log4j vulnerability affecting its products and apps.

What users say

Community threads question app trustworthiness — plugin-vs-Marketplace security doubts and paid-review accusations — rather than praising specific apps.

“Do you trust Jira browser plug-ins more than Marketplace ...”
Reddit, r/atlassian (discussion title)
“So my comment about the paid reviews really got into the Atlassian ...”
LinkedIn post

Alternatives

Compare Atlassian Marketplace with each alternative.

  • Atlassian native features

    Check built-in automation and plans before paying for an app

  • App vendor direct

    Trial from the vendor's own site for demos and direct support

  • G2 / Capterra cross-check

    Compare app reviews across platforms before installing anything

Full analysis

Based on ~14 public sources; several are vendor-authored blogs and snippets are truncated, so user-sentiment evidence is thin.

Storefront, not a product. Only shop here if you run Jira/Confluence — vet each app's cost, security and reviews yourself.

Methodology

Based on ~14 public sources; several are vendor-authored blogs and snippets are truncated, so user-sentiment evidence is thin.

Sources

  1. Atlassian Marketplace homepagemarketplace.atlassian.com
    official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. official
  5. security
  6. news
  7. review
  8. review
  9. review
  10. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.