shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

McGraw Hill Review

Depends

Should I use McGraw Hill?

Navigate your educational journey with McGraw Hill. We provide essential tools and resources for both instructors and students to foster effective learning. - mheducation.com

· 1 month ago

Districts and universities with procurement budgets get a deep, proven curriculum and courseware catalog. Individual students, parents, and budget buyers face opaque pricing, access-code lock-in, and a fresh 13.5M-account breach.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources: Reddit and Quora reviews, April 2026 breach disclosures, 2025 IPO coverage, and vendor case studies.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support-quality evidence in reviewed sources.
  • Security posture

Pricing

Not disclosed

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • K-12 districts adopting whole-curriculum programs
  • Universities standardizing intro-course homework
  • Institutions needing LMS-integrated courseware
  • Adaptive math practice via ALEKS

Not for

  • Students and parents paying out of pocket
  • Budget-limited homeschoolers
  • Small tutoring operations
  • Buyers requiring strong student-data guarantees

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

2026 breach came from a Salesforce misconfiguration — exposure happened regardless of user behavior.

medium

Most program pricing is unpublished; access-code costs surface at checkout or via sales.

medium

GetApp lists 20+ Connect alternatives — buyers actively migrate off the platform.

low

A Florida textbook-pricing lawsuit (dismissed June 2026) signals recurring cost disputes.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Deep PreK-12 through higher-ed catalog across disciplines
  • ALEKS adds AI-powered adaptive learning
  • Connect integrates assignments and exams into campus LMS
  • Published university case studies, e.g. University of Kentucky

Cons

  • April 2026 breach exposed 13.5 million accounts
  • Students complain of forced homework-access payments
  • Fierce student backlash against Connect platform
  • Faculty report being required to adopt McGraw products

Sources & method

- 10 sources - Breach flag: April 2026 Salesforce misconfiguration exposed data tied to 13.5M accounts.

official x1review x4security x3news x2
  • Salesforce misconfiguration data breach (April 2026), A misconfigured Salesforce instance exposed data affecting 13.5 million accounts; McGraw Hill confirmed the breach and it is catalogued on Have I Been Pwned.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • Not disclosed

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Pay-to-access homework draws sustained criticism.
  • Ease of use: 2/5. Connect UX sparks frequent student rants.
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Vast catalog, ALEKS AI, LMS integration.
  • Support quality. No support-quality evidence in reviewed sources.
  • Security posture: 2/5. 13.5M-account breach in April 2026.
  • 13.5M Accounts exposed in 2026 breach Salesforce misconfiguration, April 2026
  • $3.25B Valuation at 2025 IPO Per Reuters
  • 1,567 Glassdoor employee reviews Mixed sentiment
  • 220 G2 reviews McGraw Hill Education products

Pricing

Not disclosed

Security

Breach flag: April 2026 Salesforce misconfiguration exposed data tied to 13.5M accounts.

  • Salesforce misconfiguration data breach (April 2026)A misconfigured Salesforce instance exposed data affecting 13.5 million accounts; McGraw Hill confirmed the breach and it is catalogued on Have I Been Pwned.²

Alternatives

Compare McGraw Hill with each alternative.

  • OpenSciEd

    Open K-12 science curriculum educators compare directly against McGraw Hill.

  • HMH

    Closest K-12 ELAR curriculum rival in district comparisons.

    McGraw Hill vs HMH
  • Pearson

    Equivalent higher-ed courseware giant; compare access terms.

Companies that use it

  • Columbus State Community College
  • University of Kentucky
  • Egypt University of Informatics
Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources: Reddit and Quora reviews, April 2026 breach disclosures, 2025 IPO coverage, and vendor case studies.

Institutional-grade curriculum with real depth — but opaque pricing, access-code lock-in, and a 2026 breach hitting 13.5M accounts.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources: Reddit and Quora reviews, April 2026 breach disclosures, 2025 IPO coverage, and vendor case studies.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. McGraw Hill homepagemheducation.com
    official
  2. security
  3. security
  4. security
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. news
  9. news
  10. review

Add this review to your site

This check for McGraw Hill says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.