shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Ko-fi | More?

Not disclosed - more.ko-fi.com

Worth it. Buy if you're a solo creator wanting low-fee tips, commissions, or simple memberships with instant payouts. Skip it if you need a serious storefront, team admin, or platform-driven discovery.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources; several review snippets were truncated, so quote selection was limited to verbatim post titles.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo direct support evidence found
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0/mo

Standard

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Ko-fi Gold$12/mo

Best for

  • Solo creators and artists
  • Low-fee tips and commissions
  • Simple memberships without Patreon-style fees
  • Side hustles testing monetization

Not for

  • Sellers needing robust inventory, taxes, or ecommerce tooling
  • Teams needing multi-seat admin and roles
  • Creators expecting built-in audience or algorithmic discovery
  • Businesses wanting guaranteed uptime or SLAs

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Guess: 0-5% excludes PayPal/Stripe processing fees; your total cut is higher

medium

One user reports total fees hitting 'over 25%' in their scenario

medium

Scam attempts target Ko-fi users; verify buyers before shipping anything

low

Gold plan ($12/mo) gates key features; check what you need first

Pros and cons

Pros

  • 0-5% service fees; standard plan has no monthly cost
  • Payouts go direct and instantly to your PayPal/Stripe
  • Rated 4.6/5 across 771 Trustpilot reviews
  • Independent reviewers call it the cheapest creator monetization option
  • Claims 1M+ creators; marketed as a free Patreon alternative

Cons

  • Full features require Ko-fi Gold at $12/month
  • One Reddit user claims Ko-fi takes over 25% in some cases
  • No dedicated public security page found on the site
  • Shop and merch depth trails dedicated creator-commerce platforms

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/21/2026 - 10 sources - No known platform breaches; one 2023 XSS in the WordPress button plugin; bug bounty runs on HackerOne.

official x3review x5security x2
  • CVE-2023-2254 — Ko-fi Button WordPress plugin XSS, Cross-site scripting vulnerability in the Ko-fi Button WordPress plugin, disclosed August 2023. Affects the plugin, not the core platform.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 5/5

    Rating

  • $0/mo

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 5/5. 0-5% fees, free tier, cheapest per reviewers
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Beginner-focused reviews praise simple setup
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Tips, memberships, shop; lighter than rivals
  • Support quality. No direct support evidence found
  • Security posture: 3/5. Bug bounty exists; 2023 plugin XSS; no public security page
  • 4.6/5 Trustpilot rating 771 reviews
  • $0/mo Starting price 0-5% service fees
  • Yes Free tier Gold plan $12/mo optional
  • 1M+ Creators Ko-fi's own claim

Pricing

Standard

$0/mo

  • 0-5% service fees
  • Tips, commissions, memberships, basic shop

Ko-fi Gold

$12/mo

  • Reduced/removed fees
  • Extra customization and features

Security

No known platform breaches; one 2023 XSS in the WordPress button plugin; bug bounty runs on HackerOne.

  • CVE-2023-2254 — Ko-fi Button WordPress plugin XSSCross-site scripting vulnerability in the Ko-fi Button WordPress plugin, disclosed August 2023. Affects the plugin, not the core platform.⁹

What users say

Users praise low fees and ease of use, with scattered complaints about fee surprises, scams, and feature limits.

“Is it just me, or is Ko-Fi a bit underrated?”
Reddit, r/artbusiness
“Beware of ko-fi scammers”
Reddit, r/Kofi
“Why dont more creators use Kofi or other?”
Reddit, r/FoundryVTT

Companies that use it

  • HR Ready
  • BoN Book Covers
Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources; several review snippets were truncated, so quote selection was limited to verbatim post titles.

Low-fee tips/memberships for solo creators; too light for serious storefronts. Start free, upgrade only for Gold features.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources; several review snippets were truncated, so quote selection was limited to verbatim post titles.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. security
  10. security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.