shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

NABP Review

Depends

Should I use NABP?

Not disclosed - nabp.pharmacy

· 12 hours ago

NABP is not software you shop for — it's the industry body behind required pharmacist exams and pharmacy accreditation. Licensure candidates and pharmacies needing accreditation must use it; everyone else has nothing to purchase here.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 40+ public sources; many review snippets were truncated, limiting quotable user feedback.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

NAPLEX exam

Raised Mar 1, 2024 (amount not in sources)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesHiked Mar 2024
HardwareNot disclosed
Accreditations (Digital, DDA, Specialty, DMEPOS)Not disclosed in reviewed sources

Best for

  • Pharmacist licensure candidates (NAPLEX, MPJE, FPGEE)
  • Pharmacies seeking payer-recognized accreditation
  • Online pharmacies wanting .pharmacy credibility
  • State boards of pharmacy (members)

Not for

  • Regular consumers — you use NABP's vetting, you don't buy it
  • Teams shopping for software — this is a regulator, not a tool
  • Non-US pharmacies with no US market plans
  • Businesses wanting generic certs like SOC 2

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Accreditation often requires paid consultants; budget prep costs, not just fees.

medium

NAPLEX fee rose March 1, 2024 — older guides understate costs.

medium

DMEPOS accreditation runs 3-year terms with annual reaccreditation cycles.

medium

Your e-profile and CE records live with NABP — switching isn't realistic.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Runs the mandatory NAPLEX/MPJE exams for US pharmacist licensure.
  • Accreditation trusted by Walgreens, Magellan Rx, Polaris, PharmcoRx.
  • FDA-funded data-sharing system improves oversight of compounding pharmacies.
  • .pharmacy registry vets legitimate online pharmacies for consumers.
  • Offers official NAPLEX practice exams for candidates.

Cons

  • Fee hikes: NAPLEX exam fee increased March 1, 2024.
  • Accreditation is heavy, consultant-driven, with long review timelines.
  • No security page found on its own site.
  • Not a software product; nothing to trial or integrate.
  • Annual reaccreditation cycles mean recurring costs.

Sources & method

- 11 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x4security x1news x3

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • Raised Mar 1, 2024 (amount not in sources)

    Starting price

  • 11

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Exam fees rose; accreditation costs undisclosed
  • Ease of use: 4/5. App Store reviewers say 'All you need'
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Exams, accreditations, registry, compliance platform all in-house
  • Support quality: 2/5. Users post asking about slow review timelines
  • Security posture: 3/5. Runs DSCSA platform; no own security page
  • 1904 Founded National Association of Boards of Pharmacy
  • 96% Online pharmacies NABP flagged (2011) Deemed not safe for consumers
  • Hiked Mar 2024 NAPLEX exam fee Exact amount not shown in sources

Pricing

NAPLEX exam

Raised Mar 1, 2024 (amount not in sources)

  • Licensure exam for US pharmacists
  • Official practice exam sold separately

Accreditations (Digital, DDA, Specialty, DMEPOS)

Not disclosed

  • Inspection-based programs
  • Recurring annual fees

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Exam candidates debate whether NABP practice exams beat UWorld, app reviewers like the official app, and accreditation seekers complain about slow review timelines.

“All you need!”
Apple App Store review

Alternatives

Compare NABP with each alternative.

  • RxPrep

    Widely used NAPLEX study course with active community.

Companies that use it

  • Walgreens (Pulse by NABP)⁷
  • Walgreens Specialty Pharmacy
  • Magellan Rx Pharmacy⁶
  • Polaris Pharmacy Service
  • PharmcoRx (NextPlat)
Full analysis

Based on 40+ public sources; many review snippets were truncated, limiting quotable user feedback.

Not software — pharmacy's regulator. Mandatory for exams or accreditation; otherwise nothing to buy.

Methodology

Based on 40+ public sources; many review snippets were truncated, limiting quotable user feedback.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. official
  2. About Us | NABPnabp.pharmacy
    official
  3. security
  4. official
  5. news
  6. news
  7. news
  8. review
  9. review
  10. review
  11. NABP accreditation guide (consultant)restorehealthconsulting.com
    review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.