shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Ncoae?

National Center for Outdoor & Adventure Education — EMT, wilderness medicine, and outdoor educator training - ncoae.org

Depends. This is not software: NCOAE is an outdoor education school running EMT, wilderness medicine, and instructor courses. Buy only if you want those credentials and can tolerate unpublished tuition and sparse third-party reviews; software shoppers should look elsewhere.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~30 public sources; most snippets are truncated, so review depth is limited.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo public evidence
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo public evidence
  • Security posture

Pricing

from $1,190

Teen expeditions

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
EMT / instructor coursesNot published

Best for

  • Career-switchers seeking fast EMT-B certification
  • Aspiring outdoor educators and trip leaders
  • Teens and gap-year students wanting expeditions
  • Organizations needing custom wilderness training

Not for

  • Software buyers — this is a school, not a tool
  • EMS students who want abundant independent reviews before paying
  • Learners needing published, upfront tuition pricing
  • Anyone wanting self-paced study — flagship courses are intensive and fixed-length

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Expect to call for tuition; published pricing limited to sample trip PDFs

medium

Fast-track risk: one student reports failing the NREMT (70/77) after the course

medium

Thin third-party review coverage makes outcomes hard to verify before paying

medium

Complaint process runs through the school itself, not an independent body

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Intensive 19-day EMT-Basic certification track
  • Gap year/semester programs award college credit
  • 14-day instructor course for aspiring trip leaders
  • Custom training programs for organizations
  • Site passes third-party safety scans (79/100, WOT-trusted)

Cons

  • No aggregate ratings; public reviews are sparse forum posts
  • One Reddit user reports failing the NREMT after the course
  • Course tuition mostly unpublished; only one $1,190 trip price found
  • Compressed 19-day EMT format questioned in EMS forums
  • Complaints routed through NCOAE's own admissions disclosure

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/05/2026 - 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x4review x4security x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • from $1,190

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Only one $1,190 trip price is public; tuition opaque
  • Ease of use. No public evidence
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Broad catalog: EMT, wilderness, educator, teen, custom
  • Support quality. No public evidence
  • Security posture: 4/5. GridinSoft 79/100; WOT-trusted
  • 19 days EMT-B course length Intensive format
  • $1,190 Sample teen trip cost 2021 Mountain Expedition PDF
  • 14 days Instructor course length Become a trip leader
  • 79/100 GridinSoft trust score Site safety scan

Pricing

Teen expeditions

from $1,190

  • 2021 Mountain Expedition sample cost
  • Fixed-length, age-specific trips

EMT / instructor courses

Not published

  • 19-day EMT-B intensive
  • 14-day instructor course
  • Hybrid Wilderness EMT available

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

feedback is sparse: EMS forum users question the 19-day format and one Reddit user reports failing the NREMT afterward.

Alternatives

Compare Ncoae with each alternative.

Full analysis

Based on ~30 public sources; most snippets are truncated, so review depth is limited.

Not a tool — NCOAE is an outdoor ed/EMT school. Good for aspiring EMTs and guides; irrelevant for software shoppers.

Methodology

Based on ~30 public sources; most snippets are truncated, so review depth is limited.

Sources

  1. official
  2. review
  3. official
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. security
  8. security
  9. official
  10. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.