shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use NSPCC?

National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children — UK child protection charity - nspcc.org.uk

Depends. This is not software — it's the UK's leading child protection charity selling safeguarding training and running free helplines. Buy its courses if you're a UK school, professional, or organisation; look elsewhere if you came shopping for a tool.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~20 public sources; NSPCC is a charity and training provider, not a software product.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo usable usability evidence found
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

£95 (was £130)

Safeguarding training

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Free services£0

Best for

  • UK schools buying safeguarding training
  • Professionals needing child-protection courses
  • Organisations commissioning independent case reviews
  • Anyone worried about a child (free helpline)

Not for

  • Anyone shopping for a software product — it's a charity
  • International schools — training is UK-scoped
  • Buyers needing vendor SLAs, contracts, or security disclosures
  • Non-UK providers needing locally tailored safeguarding certification

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

UK-focused content may not transfer to international safeguarding contexts.

medium

Reddit thread alleges emails sent outside an 11am window are handled oddly.

low

Training cancellation terms apply; check before booking discounted courses.

low

No public security page; technical practices barely disclosed.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Authoritative case review repository used across UK safeguarding partnerships
  • 75p in every £1 goes to charitable work
  • Safeguarding training discounted to £95 from £130
  • Free helpline for anyone worried about a child
  • Trusted for independent reviews, e.g. by Swim England

Cons

  • Only 54 Trustpilot reviews — thin public feedback
  • No dedicated security page found
  • Critics say training misses international-school needs
  • Reddit threads question donation value and messaging

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 11 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x4review x3security x1news x3

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • £95 (was £130)

    Starting price

  • 11

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. 75p/£1 to charity; training from £95
  • Ease of use. No usable usability evidence found
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Broad safeguarding library, case reviews, helplines, training
  • Support quality: 3/5. Helpline backed by Genesys contact-centre rollout
  • Security posture: 3/5. No incidents found; no dedicated security page
  • £118M Charitable income Wikipedia estimate
  • £95 Course price Reduced from £130
  • 75p/£1 To charitable work Per NSPCC spending page
  • 54 Trustpilot reviews Very small sample

Pricing

Safeguarding training

£95 (was £130)

  • Introduction to safeguarding and child protection
  • Per-course fee; training packages available

Free services

£0

  • Helpline for anyone worried about a child
  • Online safety guides and case review library

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Feedback is sparse: a 54-review Trustpilot base plus Reddit threads debating donations, responsiveness, and alternatives.

“This is why I don't give money to the NSPCC”
Reddit, r/unitedkingdom
“Did you know emails sent to the NSPCC outside 11am”
Reddit, r/AskBrits
“NSPCC - alternative charities?”
Mumsnet

Companies that use it

  • Swim England⁵
  • Youth Endowment Fund
Full analysis

Based on ~20 public sources; NSPCC is a charity and training provider, not a software product.

Not software — UK child-protection charity. Good for safeguarding training and helplines; wrong page if buying a tool.

Methodology

Based on ~20 public sources; NSPCC is a charity and training provider, not a software product.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. news
  5. news
  6. official
  7. official
  8. Case reviewslearning.nspcc.org.uk
    official
  9. Terms of supplylearning.nspcc.org.uk
    official
  10. NSPCC — Wikipediaen.wikipedia.org
    news
  11. security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.