shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Obico?

All-in-one, open-source AI failure detection and remote monitoring for 3D printers - obico.io

Depends. Buy if you run OctoPrint or Klipper and want cheap AI failure alerts — the free tier covers basics and the apps work well for remote watching. Skip if you expect plug-and-play Bambu-style monitoring or a turnkey self-hosted install.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 30+ public sources; snippets often truncated, so verbatim quotes are limited to post titles.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support-quality evidence in sources
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

Free

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
AI PremiumPaid (exact price not listed in sources reviewed)

Best for

  • Hobbyists running OctoPrint or Klipper
  • Unattended long prints needing alerts
  • Privacy-minded makers who can self-host
  • Small print setups on a budget

Not for

  • Anyone wanting zero-setup, Bambu-native monitoring
  • Self-hosters with only a Raspberry Pi 4
  • Buyers who won't tinker with cameras and configs
  • Schools or farms needing fleet admin features

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Free tier limits AI features; full failure detection requires the paid plan

medium

Cloud AI streams webcam footage to Obico servers — a real privacy tradeoff

medium

Self-hosted server is resource-hungry; check hardware requirements before committing

low

Shared auth token error if printers share tokens; adds setup friction

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Open source with a self-hosted server option
  • Free plan available; no upfront cost
  • AI failure detection catches failed prints early
  • Works with OctoPrint and Klipper; iOS and Android apps
  • Cloud or self-host — choose per privacy needs

Cons

  • Self-hosting needs real hardware; Pi 4 struggles
  • App reviews mention webcam issues
  • Some Klipper users actively advise against it
  • Printer-specific setup quirks reported

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/30/2026 - 12 sources - No CVEs found in sources reviewed; Obico self-disclosed a security incident in Aug 2021 and documents encryption and privacy practices.

official x4review x6security x2
  • Security incident (self-disclosed), Obico published its own detailed analysis of a security incident on Aug 19, 2021, on its blog.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Usable free tier; paid plan optional
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Cloud easy; setup friction reported
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Remote control plus AI failure detection
  • Support quality. No support-quality evidence in sources
  • Security posture: 3/5. 2021 incident disclosed; encryption claimed
  • Yes Free tier Free plan; AI features limited
  • Yes Open source Self-hosted server on GitHub
  • OctoPrint & Klipper Printer support Bambu, Sovol, Prusa setups documented
  • iOS + Android Apps Remote control and alerts

Pricing

Free

$0

  • Basic remote monitoring
  • Limited AI failure detection

AI Premium

Paid (exact price not listed in sources reviewed)

  • Full AI failure detection
  • Expanded cloud features

Security

No CVEs found in sources reviewed; Obico self-disclosed a security incident in Aug 2021 and documents encryption and privacy practices.

  • Security incident (self-disclosed)Obico published its own detailed analysis of a security incident on Aug 19, 2021, on its blog.⁸

Companies that use it

  • Sovol
  • Instituto Superior Técnico (student project)
Full analysis

Based on 30+ public sources; snippets often truncated, so verbatim quotes are limited to post titles.

Open-source AI print watchdog for OctoPrint/Klipper. Cloud tier is cheap and useful; self-hosting is fiddly.

Methodology

Based on 30+ public sources; snippets often truncated, so verbatim quotes are limited to post titles.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. official
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. security
  9. security
  10. review
  11. 3DPrinterOS vs Obico3dprinteros.com
    review
  12. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.