shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Secure Identity for Employees, Customers, and AI | Okta?

The Okta and Auth0 Platforms enable secure access, authentication, and automation — putting identity at the heart of business security and growth. - okta.com

Depends. Buy if you're a mid-to-large organization with many SaaS apps, compliance demands, and IT staff to run it. Small teams needing basic logins will overspend — start with Entra ID, Google SSO, or an open-source option.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources; source snippets were truncated, so no verbatim user quotes or named customers could be extracted.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo clear evidence either way
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo reliable evidence found
  • Security posture

Pricing

$6/user/month

Workforce Identity (SSO)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • Large orgs with many SaaS apps
  • Compliance-driven security teams
  • Companies needing customer login (Auth0)
  • Enterprises rolling out AI agents

Not for

  • Small teams that just need basic SSO
  • Startups without dedicated IT/security staff
  • Tight budgets fearing five-figure annual bills
  • Microsoft 365 shops already holding Entra ID

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Expect real spend well above sticker prices once you add MFA, lifecycle, and governance SKUs

medium

Accounts without enforced MFA were flagged as an authentication gap in late 2024

medium

Guess: deep app integrations create switching costs once every login routes through Okta

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Rated 4.5/5 across 1,398 G2 reviews and 971 Gartner reviews
  • Covers workforce, customer (Auth0), and AI-agent identity in one platform
  • Independent security score of 89.6/100 from CyStack
  • Introduced simplified solution pricing in 2025

Cons

  • Nicknamed 'the Okta Tax' for high total cost
  • Per-user, per-product pricing compounds across SSO, MFA, lifecycle, governance
  • 2024 analysis flagged authentication gaps for users without MFA

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/21/2026 - 8 sources - Strong reputation (89.6/100 independent score) with one documented MFA-related authentication gap flagged in November 2024.

official x1review x5security x2
  • Authentication vulnerability for users without MFA, November 2024 analysis highlighted potential security gaps for Okta users not enforcing multi-factor authentication.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • $6/user/month

    Starting price

  • 8

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Repeatedly called expensive; dubbed 'the Okta Tax'
  • Ease of use. No clear evidence either way
  • Feature depth: 5/5. Full IAM suite: workforce, customer, AI identity
  • Support quality. No reliable evidence found
  • Security posture: 4/5. 89.6/100 score; one MFA gap flagged
  • 4.5/5 G2 rating 1,398 reviews
  • $6/user/mo Starting price Workforce Identity SSO
  • 971 Gartner reviews in-depth ratings
  • 89.6/100 CyStack security score independent scan

Pricing

Workforce Identity (SSO)

$6/user/month

  • Single sign-on across apps
  • Per-user, per-product add-ons for MFA and governance

Security

Strong reputation (89.6/100 independent score) with one documented MFA-related authentication gap flagged in November 2024.

  • Authentication vulnerability for users without MFANovember 2024 analysis highlighted potential security gaps for Okta users not enforcing multi-factor authentication.⁵

What users say

Across 1,398 G2 and 971 Gartner reviews, users rate Okta highly, with cost the recurring complaint.

Alternatives

Compare Secure Identity for Employees, Customers, and AI | Okta with each alternative.

Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources; source snippets were truncated, so no verbatim user quotes or named customers could be extracted.

Enterprise-grade identity, enterprise-grade pricing. Right for big orgs; overkill for small teams with simpler SSO needs.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources; source snippets were truncated, so no verbatim user quotes or named customers could be extracted.

Sources

  1. official
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. security
  6. security
  7. review
  8. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.