shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Opentable?

Not disclosed - opentable.com

Depends. Buy it if you run a busy full-service restaurant and need OpenTable's diner network to fill tables. Skip it if you're a thin-margin independent — the monthly fee plus per-cover fees can quietly outgrow the bookings it brings.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 40+ public sources: Reddit owner threads, pricing breakdowns, official pages, and security advisories. Pricing snippets were truncated, so exact dollar figures are omitted.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityOnly official support pages; no quality evidence
  • Security posture

Pricing

Core

Monthly platform fee + per-cover fees

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
ProHigher monthly fee + per-cover fees

Best for

  • Busy full-service restaurants
  • Tourist-heavy venues needing discovery traffic
  • Restaurants wanting reviews plus reservations in one
  • Diners booking tables for free

Not for

  • Thin-margin independents fearing per-cover fees
  • Walk-in-only cafes and diners
  • Owners anxious about 2026 contract term changes
  • Diners who resent surprise platform charges

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Bill equals monthly platform fee plus per-cover fees; costs scale with every booking accepted

medium

Updated 2026 client agreements changed terms; some restaurateurs nervous about commitments

low

WordPress 'Widgets for OpenTable Reviews' plugin had an arbitrary-file-upload vulnerability — third-party plugin, not OpenTable core

low

Dedicated 1-800-OPENTABLE support line exists; owner-reported support quality unverified in sources

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Largest US online reservation network drives diner discovery
  • Users consistently praise ease of use on G2
  • Covers reservations, reputation, and review management in one platform
  • Owners say it's easier than Tock
  • Diner app described as 'unbelievably easy' on App Store

Cons

  • Independent restaurant owners publicly question whether it's worth the cost
  • Monthly platform fee plus per-cover fees inflates bills
  • 2026 contract term changes made restaurateurs anxious
  • Diners complain about surprise OpenTable charges
  • Only 264 Trustpilot reviews; sentiment mixed

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 10 sources - No OpenTable-core breaches or vulnerabilities found in sources; third-party review-widget plugins had issues.

official x2review x6security x1news x1
  • Arbitrary file upload in 'Widgets for OpenTable Reviews' WordPress plugin, Third-party WordPress plugin vulnerability, not OpenTable's own platform.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • Monthly platform fee + per-cover fees

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Owners repeatedly question cost for independents
  • Ease of use: 4/5. G2 users consistently praise ease of use
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Reservations, reviews, reputation in one platform
  • Support quality. Only official support pages; no quality evidence
  • Security posture: 3/5. No core breaches found; official security docs exist
  • 4.8/5 FeaturedCustomers rating OpenTable customer stories
  • 264 Trustpilot reviewers mixed diner sentiment
  • 3 tiers Pricing plans Core and Pro named; monthly fee + per-cover
  • Booking Holdings Owner owned for 11+ years

Pricing

Core

Monthly platform fee + per-cover fees

  • Reservation management
  • Per-cover fee on guest bookings

Pro

Higher monthly fee + per-cover fees

  • Adds marketing and guest-engagement tools
  • Reputation management included

Security

No OpenTable-core breaches or vulnerabilities found in sources; third-party review-widget plugins had issues.

  • Arbitrary file upload in 'Widgets for OpenTable Reviews' WordPress pluginThird-party WordPress plugin vulnerability, not OpenTable's own platform.10

Alternatives

Compare Opentable with each alternative.

  • Toast POS

    Appears in 2026 alternatives lists; bundles reservations with POS

Full analysis

Based on 40+ public sources: Reddit owner threads, pricing breakdowns, official pages, and security advisories. Pricing snippets were truncated, so exact dollar figures are omitted.

Great diner network, real costs: monthly fee plus per-cover fees. Busy restaurants win; independents should compare cheaper tools.

Methodology

Based on 40+ public sources: Reddit owner threads, pricing breakdowns, official pages, and security advisories. Pricing snippets were truncated, so exact dollar figures are omitted.

Sources

  1. official
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. news
  9. official
  10. security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.