shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Home | OPLIN?

Not disclosed - oplin.ohio.gov

Depends. Essential and effectively state-funded for Ohio public libraries, but it is a government network, not a product anyone can purchase. Businesses, out-of-state libraries, and individuals cannot buy it and need commercial alternatives.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 6 public sources, all official OPLIN/Ohio.gov pages; no independent reviews or third-party ratings found.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$360.00

Webkit Premium

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Core servicesState-funded

Best for

  • Ohio public library systems
  • Library directors handling E-rate and connectivity
  • Libraries needing ORC 9.64 compliance help
  • Libraries wanting state-funded websites (Webkits)

Not for

  • Any business, startup, or individual — you cannot buy it
  • Out-of-state libraries
  • Nonprofits wanting a general-purpose website host
  • Teams expecting commercial SaaS with SLAs and reviews

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Must verify staff watched a training video before your order enters the work queue

medium

State-budget dependent: INFOhio took a 42% funding cut in 2015

medium

ORC 9.64 requires Ohio libraries to have cybersecurity programs by July 1, 2026

low

Only one public price line ($360 Premium); costs of other services unpublished

Pros and cons

Pros

  • State-funded internet connectivity and network support for Ohio public libraries
  • Website service (Webkits) with custom websites for libraries
  • Premium tier: $360 covers security patches and upgrades in perpetuity, no ongoing costs
  • Tier III-rated data center co-location available
  • Statewide databases funded via Libraries Connect Ohio partnership

Cons

  • Only available to Ohio public libraries; not a commercial product
  • Webkit orders blocked until staff watch a training video
  • Dependent on state budgets; INFOhio lost 42% funding in 2015
  • Public site is mostly archived news; little current product detail

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/19/2026 - 6 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x5security x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • $360.00

    Starting price

  • 6

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. State-funded core; $360 premium covers patches perpetually
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Mandatory training video before orders enter work queue
  • Feature depth: 5/5. Connectivity, websites, databases, SMS, co-location, security
  • Support quality: 4/5. Staff troubleshoot library networks beyond their own scope
  • Security posture: 4/5. Tier III data center, audits, NIST-aligned templates
  • $360 Webkit Premium price Security patches and upgrades in perpetuity
  • Tier III Data center tier Co-location service offered to libraries
  • $1.6M Database grant IMLS LSTA grant for Ohio Web Library, FY2013-14
  • July 1, 2026 ORC 9.64 deadline Ohio library cybersecurity programs due

Pricing

Webkit Premium

$360.00

  • Security patches and upgrades in perpetuity
  • No ongoing costs

Core services

State-funded

  • Internet connectivity
  • Ohio Web Library databases
  • Support center

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

No independent user reviews found; the site offers its own testimonials page and stakeholder reports.

Companies that use it

  • Ohio public libraries¹
Full analysis

Based on 6 public sources, all official OPLIN/Ohio.gov pages; no independent reviews or third-party ratings found.

State-funded network for Ohio public libraries only — websites, internet, databases. Not for sale to anyone else.

Methodology

Based on 6 public sources, all official OPLIN/Ohio.gov pages; no independent reviews or third-party ratings found.

Sources

  1. Home | OPLINoplin.ohio.gov
    official
  2. OPLIN news nodeoplin.ohio.gov
    official
  3. Security Resourcesoplin.ohio.gov
    security
  4. Node archive page 8oplin.ohio.gov
    official
  5. Node archive page 3oplin.ohio.gov
    official
  6. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.