shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Orton Academy Review

Depends

Should I use Orton Academy?

Skip to content - ortonacademy.org

· 3 days ago

The URL appears to be the Orton-Gillingham teacher-certification body, while evidence points to Orton Academy, a tuition-free Colorado Springs K-8 for dyslexic learners at ortonk8.org. Only fits if your child has dyslexia and you live locally; teachers seeking OG certification compare accredited training providers instead.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 50+ public sources. Most evidence describes the school at ortonk8.org; the pasted ortonacademy.org URL matches a similarly named teacher-certification body.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useAdmissions process not described in evidence
  • Feature depthSchool, not software; no feature evidence
  • Support quality
  • Security postureNo public security evidence for the school

Pricing

$0

Tuition-free public enrollment

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes

Best for

  • Colorado Springs families
  • Children with dyslexia
  • K-8 readers needing OG instruction

Not for

  • Families outside the Colorado Springs area
  • Kids without significant reading difficulties
  • Teachers wanting OG certification. This is a school, not a training provider
  • Homeschoolers needing online dyslexia programs

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Name confusion: is a teacher-certification academy; the school's site is

medium

Governance is BOCES-affiliated, not a District 11 charter, verify enrollment rules before applying

medium

Trailblazer co-location is recent and contested; facilities could change

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Tuition-free public enrollment, no cost to families
  • Specializes in Orton-Gillingham instruction for dyslexic learners
  • Received Daniels Fund grant to expand dyslexia services in 2023
  • District approved co-location at Trailblazer Elementary, expanding capacity

Cons

  • Serves only the Colorado Springs area; no remote option
  • Co-location plans drew parent opposition and public debate
  • Governance confusion: locals dispute whether it is a charter school

Sources & method

- 9 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x4review x3news x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 5/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 9

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 5/5. Tuition-free public school
  • Ease of use. Admissions process not described in evidence
  • Feature depth. School, not software; no feature evidence
  • Support quality: 3/5. Grateful parents, but co-location sparked pushback
  • Security posture. No public security evidence for the school
  • $0 Tuition Tuition-free public school per Colorado Dept. Of Education
  • Colorado Springs, CO Location 3115 Larkspur Drive
  • Orton-Gillingham Method Dyslexia-focused instruction
  • Daniels Fund grant Notable funding 2023, to expand dyslexia services

Pricing

Tuition-free public enrollment

$0

  • K-8 dyslexia-focused instruction
  • Orton-Gillingham method
  • Colorado residents only

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

Full analysis

Based on 50+ public sources. Most evidence describes the school at ortonk8.org; the pasted ortonacademy.org URL matches a similarly named teacher-certification body.

Tuition-free Colorado Springs K-8 for dyslexic kids; strong fit locally, irrelevant elsewhere. Not software.

Methodology

Based on 50+ public sources. Most evidence describes the school at ortonk8.org; the pasted ortonacademy.org URL matches a similarly named teacher-certification body.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. review
  5. review
  6. news
  7. news
  8. official
  9. review

Add this review to your site

This check for Orton Academy says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.