shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Paragon Software (Paragon Software Group)?

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to browse the site, you agree to our use of cookies. - paragon-software.com

Depends. Buy Paragon's specific drivers or Hard Disk Manager only if you truly need cross-platform disk access — and patch fast, since 2025 brought RCE and high-severity CVEs. Casual users and anyone wanting a dependable free backup should start with free built-in or open-source alternatives.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources. Caution: three unrelated companies share the 'Paragon' name — this German disk-software maker, Paragon Software Systems (routing, now Aptean), and an Israeli spyware firm. Findings here cover only the German company at paragon-software.com.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Free

Backup & Recovery Community Edition

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Home utilities (NTFS for Mac, HFS+ for Windows)Paid — prices not shown in sources
Hard Disk Manager BusinessPaid — prices not shown in sources

Best for

  • Mac users needing full NTFS drive read/write
  • IT teams imaging and managing Windows disks
  • Windows users wanting free file-level backup
  • Households mixing Mac, Windows, and Linux drives

Not for

  • Casual Mac users — free NTFS/extFS alternatives exist
  • Anyone relying on the free backup tier long-term
  • Logistics/routing buyers — different Paragon, sold to Aptean
  • Security-strict shops unwilling to chase frequent driver patches

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Patch immediately: 2025 RCE and high-severity CVEs affect several products

medium

Free Community Edition's survival is questioned by users — verify before depending on it

medium

macOS updates may require lowering security settings for Paragon drivers

low

Brand confusion: unrelated Israeli spyware firm 'Paragon' dominates news searches

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free Community Edition covers file-level backup
  • Disk-management specialist since 1994
  • Broad cross-platform drivers: NTFS, HFS+, Linux file systems
  • Microsoft exFAT licensing partnership

Cons

  • CVE-2025-0286: remote code execution in Backup & Recovery
  • Long-time users say NTFS for Mac went 'downhill'
  • Free backup version reportedly dead or problematic
  • extFS for Mac missing advertised features
  • High-severity 2025 CVEs span multiple products

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/26/2026 - 13 sources - Active 2025 CVEs across Backup & Recovery and Hard Disk Manager — patch before deploying.

official x2review x6security x3news x2
  • CVE-2025-0286 — Remote code execution, Various Paragon products, including Backup & Recovery, contain an RCE vulnerability.
  • CVE-2025-0287 / 0288 / 0289, Additional vulnerabilities across various Paragon Software products; CVE-2025-0288 rated high severity.
  • VU#726882 — Hard Disk Manager, CERT/CC-coordinated vulnerability disclosure affecting Paragon Hard Disk Manager.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • Free

    Starting price

  • 13

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Free edition exists; paid-license complaints persist
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Reddit users report install confusion
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Deep cross-platform disk and file-system toolkit
  • Support quality: 2/5. Reddit reports declining support and license friction
  • Security posture: 2/5. Multiple 2025 CVEs including an RCE
  • 1994 Founded German software company
  • 45 G2 reviews Paragon Software Group seller page
  • Yes Free tier Backup & Recovery Community Edition
  • 4 2025 CVEs Incl. RCE; one rated high severity

Pricing

Backup & Recovery Community Edition

Free

  • File-level backup
  • Users question its ongoing availability

Home utilities (NTFS for Mac, HFS+ for Windows)

Paid — prices not shown in sources

  • Cross-platform file-system drivers
  • Per-product purchases

Hard Disk Manager Business

Paid — prices not shown in sources

  • Disk imaging, partitioning, deployment
  • Aimed at IT teams

Security

Active 2025 CVEs across Backup & Recovery and Hard Disk Manager — patch before deploying.

  • CVE-2025-0286 — Remote code executionVarious Paragon products, including Backup & Recovery, contain an RCE vulnerability.⁷
  • CVE-2025-0287 / 0288 / 0289Additional vulnerabilities across various Paragon Software products; CVE-2025-0288 rated high severity.⁸
  • VU#726882 — Hard Disk ManagerCERT/CC-coordinated vulnerability disclosure affecting Paragon Hard Disk Manager.⁹

What users say

Long-time users respect the disk toolkit but report quality decline, license friction, and doubts about the free tier.

“Paragon Software - NTFS for Mac - Gone' Downhill”
Reddit, r/macapps (post title)
“Is Paragon Backup free version dead?”
Reddit, r/Backup (post title)

Alternatives

Compare Paragon Software (Paragon Software Group) with each alternative.

  • NTFS-3G (open source)

    Guess: free open-source NTFS driver for Mac and Linux.

  • macOS Time Machine

    Guess: free built-in Mac backup; simpler for home users.

  • Windows built-in backup

    Guess: File History covers basic file-level backup needs.

Companies that use it

  • Boise State University
Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources. Caution: three unrelated companies share the 'Paragon' name — this German disk-software maker, Paragon Software Systems (routing, now Aptean), and an Israeli spyware firm. Findings here cover only the German company at paragon-software.com.

Decent disk utilities, but 2025 CVEs, license gripes, and free-tier doubt — casual users should try free alternatives first.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources. Caution: three unrelated companies share the 'Paragon' name — this German disk-software maker, Paragon Software Systems (routing, now Aptean), and an Israeli spyware firm. Findings here cover only the German company at paragon-software.com.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. security
  8. security
  9. security
  10. official
  11. official
  12. news
  13. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.