shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Perkinselearning?

(none) - perkinselearning.org

Depends. Use it if you teach or parent a child with visual impairment — much is free and credible, with paid CE-credit courses. Skip it if you're shopping for actual software; this is training content, not a tool.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~30 public sources; mostly resource-list citations and forum mentions, few independent reviews.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo usability evidence found
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence found
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

Free resources

ModelFree + per-course fees
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Paid online coursesPer-course fee (not published)

Best for

  • Teachers of the visually impaired
  • Parents of blind or CVI kids
  • Special-ed pros needing CEUs

Not for

  • Anyone shopping for classroom software — it's content, not a tool
  • Schools needing an LMS or platform to deploy
  • Educators with no blind/low-vision students
  • Buyers wanting SSO, SLAs, or vendor support

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Paid course fees aren't listed upfront — you register first, learn price later

medium

ACVREP credit eligibility varies by course; verify before paying

low

Check free webcasts and tutorials first — they may cover what you'd pay for

low

Independent user reviews are scarce; sample free content before committing money

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Large free library: webcasts, tutorials, Braille courses
  • Courses earn ACVREP continuing-education credits
  • Standard resource cited by districts and VI service centers
  • Deep coverage: CVI, deafblind, assessment, assistive tech
  • Backed by Perkins School for the Blind nonprofit

Cons

  • Not software — nothing to deploy, integrate, or administer
  • Course prices not published; registration or inquiry required
  • Few independent reviews; most links are citation lists
  • Niche scope — irrelevant outside visual-impairment education

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/30/2026 - 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x5review x3security x1news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Much content free; paid courses serve CE needs
  • Ease of use. No usability evidence found
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Broad: CVI, deafblind, braille, assistive tech
  • Support quality. No support evidence found
  • Security posture: 3/5. Publishes security page; no findings found
  • Yes Free content Free webcasts, tutorials, Braille courses
  • ACVREP-listed CE credits Some courses eligible for continuing ed
  • Free + per-course fees Pricing model Course fees not published publicly
  • Scarce Independent reviews Mostly resource-list citations, few ratings

Pricing

Free resources

$0

  • Webcasts and tutorials
  • Free Braille courses

Paid online courses

Per-course fee (not published)

  • CEU / ACVREP credit options
  • Registration required

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Teachers and parents routinely cite Perkins eLearning in forums and district resource lists as a trusted visual-impairment source, though detailed independent reviews are rare.

Companies that use it

  • Fairfax County Public Schools²
  • North Dakota Vision Services⁶
  • Anne Sullivan Centre (Ireland)⁷
  • Tennessee RCVI
  • Wyoming Dept. of Education (VI outreach)

Companies that could

  • UMass Boston Uses Its own CVI graduate certificate program instead
  • Bridge School Uses Its own CVI webinar series instead
Full analysis

Based on ~30 public sources; mostly resource-list citations and forum mentions, few independent reviews.

Reputable free-and-paid training for teachers/parents of blind & CVI kids. Not software — courses, webcasts, CEUs.

Methodology

Based on ~30 public sources; mostly resource-list citations and forum mentions, few independent reviews.

Sources

  1. security
  2. official
  3. official
  4. official
  5. news
  6. official
  7. official
  8. review
  9. review
  10. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.