shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Cloud Based EHR - Electronic Health Records | Practice Fusion?

Discover how Practice Fusion's intuitive EHR solutions enhance healthcare delivery. Join thousands of practices improving patient care with our expertise. - practicefusion.com

Depends. A reasonable fit for solo and small independent practices wanting an affordable, easy-to-use cloud EHR. Avoid it if you need responsive support, reliable integrated billing, or run a large organization.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~15 public sources; independent review depth is thin (Trustpilot has only 6 reviews).

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security postureNo public vulnerability findings in reviewed sources

Pricing

$199/month per provider

Per provider

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo

Best for

  • Solo and small independent clinics
  • Primary care practices
  • Budget-conscious providers wanting a certified cloud EHR

Not for

  • Hospitals and large health systems — this targets ambulatory practices
  • Practices needing reliable integrated insurance billing
  • Anyone expecting fast, quality customer support
  • Specialties wanting all-in-one EHR, billing, and patient engagement

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Annual commitment required; ~$2,388 per provider yearly before taxes

high

Recurring complaints of poor support and unsubmitted insurance claims

medium

Third-party sites list an older $149 rate; confirm current pricing before signing

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Low entry price versus rivals; DocVilla runs ~$400/month
  • Clean interface; providers started documenting quickly per reviews
  • Includes 3 signing staff and unlimited non-signing staff licenses
  • Free trial with no commitment
  • Vendor claims 112,000+ healthcare professionals onboard

Cons

  • Required annual commitment; taxes excluded from advertised price
  • Users report 'Worst Customer Service'
  • Insurance claim submission failures reported by users
  • Paid $145M to settle 2020 DOJ e-prescribing kickback case

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/29/2026 - 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x1review x6security x1news x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • $199/month per provider

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Cheaper than rivals like DocVilla at ~$400/month
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Users report clean interface, quick documentation ramp-up
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Broad EHR suite, but billing gaps reported
  • Support quality: 2/5. Repeated 'worst customer service' complaints in sources
  • Security posture. No public vulnerability findings in reviewed sources
  • $199/mo per provider Starting price Annual commitment required; taxes extra
  • No Free tier Free 2-week trial only
  • 2005 Founded Acquired by Allscripts in 2018
  • 112,000+ Claimed users Healthcare professionals, per vendor

Pricing

Per provider

$199/month per provider

  • 3 signing staff licenses
  • Unlimited non-signing staff licenses
  • Annual commitment required; taxes excluded

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Small-practice users like the clean interface and value, but support quality and billing issues draw frequent complaints.

“Practice Fusion has been a good fit for our independent primary care clinic, the interface is clean, and most providers were able to start documenting”
EMRSystems user review
“Many users have experienced "Worst Customer Service"”
CapMinds blog roundup

Alternatives

Compare Cloud Based EHR - Electronic Health Records | Practice Fusion with each alternative.

Full analysis

Based on ~15 public sources; independent review depth is thin (Trustpilot has only 6 reviews).

Affordable $199/provider cloud EHR for small clinics — but annual lock-in, weak support, and a $145M DOJ settlement give pause.

Methodology

Based on ~15 public sources; independent review depth is thin (Trustpilot has only 6 reviews).

Sources

  1. official
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. news
  9. news
  10. security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.