shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Pressbooks?

Pressbooks empowers authors, educators and organizations to create, publish and share digital books and open educational resources (OER) - pressbooks.com

Depends. Buy it if you're an educator, library, or institution publishing open textbooks — it's the category standard for OER. Solo authors who just need a formatted ebook should try cheaper, simpler tools first.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~15 public sources; many review snippets truncated, limiting quote depth.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo usable evidence in sources
  • Security posture

Pricing

See site (per-book plans)

Self-Publisher plans

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Enterprise networksCustom quote

Best for

  • Educators publishing open textbooks (OER)
  • University libraries and consortia
  • Nonfiction authors needing EPUB/PDF/web output
  • Institutions running campus-wide publishing networks

Not for

  • Solo fiction authors who only need fast EPUB/print formatting
  • Authors wanting built-in retail distribution and marketing
  • Buyers wanting a validated vendor track record — near-zero public reviews
  • Casual projects — a Google Doc or blog post suffices

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Custom enterprise pricing means budget clarity requires a sales conversation.

medium

Watermark and user restrictions on lower tiers per community discussion.

medium

Self-hosters report feature gaps versus hosted plans.

medium

Stored-XSS CVE-2021-3271 hit v5.17.3; stay current on releases.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • WordPress-based writing and book formatting
  • Open source and self-hostable
  • Widely adopted by universities and libraries for OER
  • Called easy to use in press and library guides

Cons

  • Only one Trustpilot review; hard to vet third-party
  • Enterprise pricing custom-quoted, no public numbers
  • Watermark and user restrictions debated by users
  • Self-hosting feature gaps discussed in community forum

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/25/2026 - 10 sources - One medium stored-XSS CVE from 2021; active patch releases since (including a WordPress 7 support + security fix release).

official x4review x4security x1news x1
  • CVE-2021-3271 — stored cross-site scripting, Medium-severity stored XSS in Pressbooks 5.17.3, disclosed February 2021.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • See site (per-book plans)

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Open-source core; enterprise pricing custom-quoted
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Library guides and press call it easy
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Full lifecycle: write, format, publish, share books
  • Support quality. No usable evidence in sources
  • Security posture: 3/5. One 2021 XSS CVE; regular patch releases since
  • 1 review Trustpilot Near-zero third-party feedback
  • Yes Free trial Advertised via Open Education Network partnership
  • Open source License Self-hostable WordPress plugin
  • 1 (2021) Known CVEs Medium stored-XSS in v5.17.3

Pricing

Self-Publisher plans

See site (per-book plans)

  • Book creation for authors and creators
  • Free trial advertised

Enterprise networks

Not disclosed

  • Campus-wide OER platforms
  • Support and results programs

Security

One medium stored-XSS CVE from 2021; active patch releases since (including a WordPress 7 support + security fix release).

  • CVE-2021-3271 — stored cross-site scriptingMedium-severity stored XSS in Pressbooks 5.17.3, disclosed February 2021.⁹

Companies that use it

  • Virginia Tech⁷
  • University of Illinois
  • University of Washington
  • Maricopa Community Colleges
  • BCcampus
Full analysis

Based on ~15 public sources; many review snippets truncated, limiting quote depth.

Open-source book & OER publishing standard loved by universities; thin public reviews, and solo authors may find simpler tools.

Methodology

Based on ~15 public sources; many review snippets truncated, limiting quote depth.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. review
  5. review
  6. news
  7. official
  8. review
  9. security
  10. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.