shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use USC Price?

Explore graduate, undergraduate and doctoral programs in public policy at USC. Ranked among the nation's best public policy schools. - priceschool.usc.edu

Depends. Buy only with significant scholarship or employer funding, and especially if your career targets LA-area government, planning, or nonprofits. Skip if you'd finance full sticker price on a public-sector salary — cheaper, well-ranked public schools deliver similar outcomes.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~35 public sources: official USC Price pages, U.S. News coverage, and Reddit/GradCafe student threads.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo evidence reviewed
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

MPP / MPA master's

Per-term tuition published on official page; figures not shown in reviewed sources

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
MUP (urban planning)Per-term tuition and fees on official page

Best for

  • Career-changers targeting government or nonprofits
  • LA-area policy, planning, real estate careers
  • Working professionals needing online MPA/MPP
  • Applicants landing scholarships or employer funding

Not for

  • Full-pay students without scholarships — debt risk
  • Anyone balking at private tuition for a public-sector salary
  • Cost-driven buyers — cheaper peer MPAs exist
  • In-person students who can't relocate to LA

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Sticker price is high; aid is selective — middle-class students report little relief. Run net cost first.

high

Public-sector salaries vs private-school debt: compare cheaper MPA peers before enrolling.

medium

Financial-aid appeals exist but outcomes vary; Reddit threads trade appeal strategies.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Ranked No. 3 among U.S. public affairs schools by U.S. News
  • Wide portfolio: MPP, MPA, urban planning, PhD, certificates, executive education
  • Launched a $20M scholarship program in 2025
  • Online MPA/MPP options for working professionals
  • Deep LA placement network — grads land Metro, city, county roles

Cons

  • Students call cost of attendance 'brutal'
  • Middle-class applicants report paying full price
  • Students openly debate whether the degree pays off long-term
  • Cheaper peer MPAs like UW Evans court the same applicants

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/02/2026 - 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x2review x4security x1news x3

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • Per-term tuition published on official page; figures not shown in reviewed sources

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Students flag brutal costs and debate ROI
  • Ease of use. No evidence reviewed
  • Feature depth: 4/5. MPP, MPA, planning, PhD, certificates, executive education
  • Support quality: 3/5. Career support and scholarships advertised; thin evidence
  • Security posture: 4/5. Security page live; no public incidents found
  • No. 3 U.S. News rank Public affairs schools
  • 10 years Top-5 streak U.S. News, ten years running
  • $20M New scholarship fund Launched June 2025

Pricing

MPP / MPA master's

Per-term tuition published on official page; figures not shown in reviewed sources

  • Tuition and fees page per program
  • Graduate scholarships plus new $20M fund

MUP (urban planning)

Per-term tuition and fees on official page

  • Separate tuition page
  • Scholarship options listed

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Reddit threads praise USC Price's ranking but repeatedly flag brutal costs and question long-run return on investment.

“Cost of attendance is brutal and idk what to do.”
Reddit, r/USC
“Middle class paying full price for 4 years”
Reddit, r/USC
“Is usc worth the price in the long run?”
Reddit, r/USC
Full analysis

Based on ~35 public sources: official USC Price pages, U.S. News coverage, and Reddit/GradCafe student threads.

Top-3 ranked policy school, brutal sticker price — worth it with scholarships, risky at full pay.

Methodology

Based on ~35 public sources: official USC Price pages, U.S. News coverage, and Reddit/GradCafe student threads.

Sources

  1. news
  2. official
  3. news
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. official
  9. Product security pagepriceschool.usc.edu
    security
  10. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.