shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use PR Newswire?

Press release distribution, targeting, monitoring and marketing across the globe. - prnewswire.com

Depends. Buy if you're a large org or agency running frequent, high-stakes announcements with a real comms budget. Skip it if you're a small business sending occasional releases — cheaper wires fit better.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 14 public sources; no verbatim user quotes or named customer logos found in evidence.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo usability evidence in reviewed sources
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$199

Newswire Digital

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Newswire National$799
Newswire Global$1,649

Best for

  • Enterprise comms teams
  • Public companies doing disclosures
  • Global multi-region campaigns
  • PR agencies with client budgets

Not for

  • Small businesses — $350+ per release adds up fast
  • Startups with occasional announcements
  • Anyone wanting flat, transparent pricing
  • Teams that can't justify a $195/yr membership plus add-ons

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

$195/yr membership required on top of per-release fees; add-ons can exceed $3,000 total

high

Same release price varies wildly by distribution scope — up to $10,000+

medium

Impact reporting product discontinued in 2024; replaced by SimilarWeb

medium

Competitors undercut with flat-rate pricing

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Global distribution with precise targeting and multimedia integration
  • Editorial team reviews 325,000 releases yearly, catching errors before publication
  • SOC 2 Type II compliant
  • 70-year track record; distributing electronically since 1954
  • Reach reports show where releases were distributed and their performance

Cons

  • Single releases can cost $350 to $10,000+
  • $195/yr membership plus add-ons that push costs past $3,000
  • Custom quotes; prohibitively expensive for small businesses
  • Confusing tier spread: Digital through Global plans differ widely

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/21/2026 - 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed. SOC 2 Type II compliant.

official x3review x6news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • $199

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. $350–$10k per release; custom quotes deter small firms
  • Ease of use. No usability evidence in reviewed sources
  • Feature depth: 5/5. Global reach, targeting, monitoring, multimedia, disclosure
  • Support quality: 4/5. Editors caught 22,000+ copy errors in 2022
  • Security posture: 5/5. SOC 2 Type II compliant
  • 781 G2 review count filterable by company size and role
  • $199 Starting price Newswire Digital plan; releases often $350–$805+
  • $350–$10,000+ Per-release range varies by reach and add-ons
  • 1954 Founded headquartered in Chicago

Pricing

Newswire Digital

$199

  • Entry-level online distribution
  • Lowest published tier

Newswire National

$799

  • US national reach
  • Mid-tier option

Newswire Global

$1,649

  • Global distribution
  • Top published tier

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

SOC 2 Type II compliant.

What users say

G2 hosts 781 reviews filterable by company size; third-party comparisons praise reach and reporting but consistently flag cost as the weakness.

“These reports offer valuable insights into the performance of press releases, including where they were distributed and their reach.”
TrustRadius review
Full analysis

Based on 14 public sources; no verbatim user quotes or named customer logos found in evidence.

Enterprise-grade wire with global reach — but $350–$10k+ per release kills small budgets.

Methodology

Based on 14 public sources; no verbatim user quotes or named customer logos found in evidence.

Sources

  1. official
  2. review
  3. review
  4. official
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. news
  10. Newswirenewswire.com
    official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.