shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Raspberry Pi?

Cost-effective single-board computers for learning, making, and industry - raspberrypi.com

Worth it. Buy one if you want a cheap, endlessly flexible Linux board for learning, making, home servers, or light embedded projects. Pass if you expect a plug-and-play computer or hardened, vendor-supported hardware for critical systems.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources: official pricing pages, CVE trackers, forums, Reddit, and news. Many source snippets were truncated.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

From $35

Raspberry Pi 4 Model B

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Raspberry Pi 5$45 (1GB)
Compute Module 5Not listed in sources

Best for

  • Hobbyists and makers
  • Learn-to-code students
  • DIY home servers and retro gaming
  • Light industrial and embedded builds

Not for

  • Anyone wanting a ready Windows/Mac desktop replacement
  • Production systems needing vendor-backed hardened hardware
  • Buyers counting on old $35 prices for high-memory models
  • Non-technical users unwilling to touch a Linux terminal

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

2026 memory-driven price hikes: new 3GB Pi 4 is $83.75 — old price guides are stale

medium

High-memory models (16GB) hit hardest by price increases

medium

Default OS previously allowed passwordless sudo; harden before exposing to a network

low

Choosing between Pi 5 and Zero 2W confuses beginners — match the board to the job

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Entry boards start at $35
  • Massive community with active official forums and years of reviews
  • Scales from hobby projects to industry via Compute Module 5
  • Publishes security advisories, CVE lists, and OS security updates
  • Publicly listed company with Sony backing — stable supplier

Cons

  • 2026 memory-driven price hikes erode the famous cheapness
  • Not plug-and-play; beginners report a Linux learning curve
  • Known kernel vulnerabilities require prompt OS updates
  • Business buyers have faced allocation limits and supply queues

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/30/2026 - 14 sources - Known Linux kernel CVEs (incl. CVE-2026-31431 'Copy Fail' exploit); Raspberry Pi publishes advisories and OS security updates.

official x4review x4security x3news x3
  • CVE-2026-31431 'Copy Fail' kernel exploit, Kernel exploit publicly discussed; community reports Debian kernels already patched.
  • CVE-2025-22011 (Linux kernel), Linux kernel vulnerability catalogued by NIST, April 2025.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • From $35

    Starting price

  • 14

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Cheap entry boards, though 2026 hikes sting
  • Ease of use: 2/5. Real Linux tinkering; beginners report a curve
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Boards to compute modules cover hobby through industry
  • Support quality: 3/5. Huge community forums; official SLAs unclear
  • Security posture: 2/5. Public kernel exploits; advisories and updates ship
  • $35 Entry price Raspberry Pi 4 Model B, official store
  • $45 Pi 5 entry price 1GB model, 2026 pricing
  • $83.75 3GB Pi 4 price After 2026 memory-driven hikes
  • Public (LSE) Company status Investor relations site live; Sony invested

Pricing

Raspberry Pi 4 Model B

From $35

  • Desktop-class single-board computer
  • Multiple memory options
  • 3GB variant now $83.75 (2026)

Raspberry Pi 5

$45 (1GB)

  • Current flagship
  • Memory options up to 16GB

Compute Module 5

Not listed in sources

  • For industrial and embedded products

Security

Known Linux kernel CVEs (incl.

  • CVE-2026-31431 'Copy Fail' kernel exploitKernel exploit publicly discussed; community reports Debian kernels already patched.⁶
  • CVE-2025-22011 (Linux kernel)Linux kernel vulnerability catalogued by NIST, April 2025.⁷

CVE-2026-31431 'Copy Fail' exploit); Raspberry Pi publishes advisories and OS security updates.

Companies that use it

  • NASA
  • ESD (CM4-based retraction unit case study)
Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources: official pricing pages, CVE trackers, forums, Reddit, and news. Many source snippets were truncated.

Legendary $35+ Linux boards for tinkerers and learners — but 2026 price hikes and a Linux learning curve dent the shine.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources: official pricing pages, CVE trackers, forums, Reddit, and news. Many source snippets were truncated.

Sources

  1. official
  2. Buy a Raspberry Pi 5raspberrypi.com
    official
  3. news
  4. news
  5. security
  6. security
  7. NVD CVE-2025-22011nvd.nist.gov
    security
  8. review
  9. review
  10. Allocations of Raspberry Piforums.raspberrypi.com
    review
  11. Investor relations - Raspberry Piinvestors.raspberrypi.com
    official
  12. news
  13. official
  14. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.