shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Raz-Kids Review

Depends

Should I use Raz-Kids?

Skip To Main Navigation - raz-kids.com

· 5 days ago

Buy if you are a K-5 teacher or school running leveled reading — it is classroom-priced, research-backed, and long-tenured. Skip if you are a solo parent, teach above grade 5, or expect a polished mobile app.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~30 public sources: teacher forums, app-store reviews, school district sites, news, and security reports.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence in sources
  • Security posture

Pricing

Classroom annual subscription

Not listed in sources reviewed — Learning A-Z quotes per classroom

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • K-5 teachers running leveled reading groups
  • Schools assigning digital reading homework
  • Blended and remote learning classrooms
  • ELL reading practice

Not for

  • Middle and high schools — content tops out at K-5
  • Solo parents wanting cheap per-child pricing
  • Teachers needing printable books — that is Reading A-Z, sold separately
  • Anyone expecting a polished mobile app

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

2015 researcher found student-data security flaws; Learning A-Z emailed teachers about remediation

medium

Per-classroom pricing; no cheap single-child tier surfaced, driving parents to group buys

medium

Kids A-Z mobile app reviews skew negative; expect friction on phones

medium

Quiz failures frustrate some readers — outcomes depend heavily on how teachers deploy it

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Large K-5 digital library of leveled books with student portal
  • Teachers use it to differentiate reading remotely
  • Systematic literature review reports positive reading outcomes
  • Tenured: teachers still say 'Love it!' after 15+ years
  • Holds iKeepSafe privacy certification

Cons

  • App Store reviewers call the Kids A-Z companion app 'useless'
  • Teachers report kids failing lessons and quizzes despite reading
  • Users report occasional service problems
  • Classroom pricing pushes solo parents into Facebook group-buys

Sources & method

- 14 sources - 2015 researcher findings exposed student-data security flaws; company remediated, now publishes a security page and iKeepSafe certification.

official x3review x8security x3
  • 2015 researcher-found security and privacy flaws, NYT investigation of digital education products for schoolchildren; Learning A-Z was later flagged around the Student Privacy Pledge and emailed teachers about the issues. No current vulnerabilities surfaced in sources reviewed.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • Not listed in sources reviewed — Learning A-Z quotes per classroom

    Starting price

  • 14

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Classroom-priced; solo parents resort to group buys
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Teacher portal liked; mobile app panned
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Leveled books, quizzes, recording, reporting, customization
  • Support quality. No support evidence in sources
  • Security posture: 3/5. 2015 flaws found; now iKeepSafe certified
  • K-5 Grade levels Digital leveled reading library
  • 2009 In classrooms since Teacher forum threads date to 2009
  • 2,204 Community resources 'raz' teaching activities shared on Wordwall
  • 2015 Security spotlight NYT investigation of edtech student-data security

Pricing

Classroom annual subscription

Not listed in sources reviewed — Learning A-Z quotes per classroom

  • Student access via Kids A-Z portal
  • Teacher assignment and reporting tools

Security

2015 researcher findings exposed student-data security flaws; company remediated, now publishes a security page and iKeepSafe certification.

  • 2015 researcher-found security and privacy flawsNYT investigation of digital education products for schoolchildren; Learning A-Z was later flagged around the Student Privacy Pledge and emailed teachers about the issues. No current vulnerabilities surfaced in sources reviewed.11

Companies that use it

  • Westside Union School District (CA)
  • International School of Denver
  • George White Elementary, Capistrano USD (CA)
  • Dearborn Public Schools (MI)
Full analysis

Based on ~30 public sources: teacher forums, app-store reviews, school district sites, news, and security reports.

Proven K-5 leveled reading library for classrooms; classroom pricing and a clunky app make it wrong for solo parents.

Methodology

Based on ~30 public sources: teacher forums, app-store reviews, school district sites, news, and security reports.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. official
  10. official
  11. security
  12. security
  13. security
  14. official

Add this review to your site

This check for Raz-Kids says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.