shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use RBC (Royal Bank of Canada)?

Royal Bank of Canada — banking, wealth management, and insurance - rbc.com

Depends. Choose RBC if you want one institution for Canadian banking, branch access, cross-border US accounts, and investing. Skip it if fees, service quality, or cheap trading matter most — online-first banks beat it there.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~25 public sources: consumer reviews, official RBC pages, and news. Snippets often truncated; numeric ratings mostly unavailable.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Monthly fee — see rates page

Day to Day Banking (chequing)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly fees$0
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Value ProgramAs low as $0/month
Direct Investing$9.95/trade

Best for

  • Canadians wanting branch access plus full-service banking
  • Cross-border Canada–US banking
  • All-in-one bank, brokerage, and wealth clients
  • Risk-averse users wanting big-bank stability

Not for

  • Fee-averse users — online banks do it cheaper
  • Frequent traders — $9.95/trade adds up fast
  • Insurance shoppers — reviewers report bad experiences
  • Anyone wanting simple, no-frills digital-only banking

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

A Reddit user reported an RBC employee accessing their information

medium

Fee waivers have qualifying conditions; standard chequing carries monthly fees

medium

Existing customers reportedly get worse pricing than new ones

low

Direct Investing charges per trade; discount competitors charge less

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Euromoney named it North America's best bank for 2026
  • Full suite: chequing, brokerage, wealth management, insurance under one roof
  • Value Program can cut monthly fees to $0
  • Cross-border US banking is its main draw, per US News
  • Digital Banking Security Guarantee covers unauthorized online transactions

Cons

  • Reddit threads call service 'awful'; 20-year customers report leaving
  • Fined more than $4 million by Canada's financial consumer watchdog
  • Auto insurance reviewers label it 'worst insurance provider'
  • Accused of prioritizing new customers over existing ones
  • $9.95 per-trade brokerage commission is pricey

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/05/2026 - 12 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x6news x3

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • Monthly fee — see rates page

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Frequent fee complaints; $0 options exist but conditions apply
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Own PR touts top mobile app; user reviews mixed
  • Feature depth: 5/5. Banking, investing, wealth, insurance all in-house
  • Support quality: 2/5. Many Reddit service complaints; formal complaint process exists
  • Security posture: 4/5. Digital banking guarantee; one reported insider-access incident
  • $0 Min monthly fee via RBC Value Program
  • $9.95/trade Direct Investing self-directed commission
  • 809 WalletHub ratings user ratings on WalletHub
  • $4M+ Regulatory fine from Canada's financial consumer watchdog

Pricing

Day to Day Banking (chequing)

Monthly fee — see rates page

  • Everyday chequing
  • Waivable via Value Program

Value Program

As low as $0/month

  • Fee waiver with conditions

Direct Investing

$9.95/trade

  • Self-directed stock and ETF trades
  • Commission per trade

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Sentiment is polarized: industry awards and satisfaction reports on one side, many Reddit threads about fees, service, and switching on the other.

“rbc is the worst bank ever”
Reddit, r/rbc
“Leaving RBC after 20 years of banking. I'm switching to...”
Reddit, r/rbc
“Ugh, I'm totally done with RBC”
Reddit, r/rbc
Full analysis

Based on ~25 public sources: consumer reviews, official RBC pages, and news. Snippets often truncated; numeric ratings mostly unavailable.

Canada's biggest bank: full-service, award-winning, but frequent fee and service complaints. Fee-averse users should look elsewhere.

Methodology

Based on ~25 public sources: consumer reviews, official RBC pages, and news. Snippets often truncated; numeric ratings mostly unavailable.

Sources

  1. news
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. official
  8. official
  9. review
  10. news
  11. official
  12. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.