shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Readwise Review

Depends

Should I use Readwise?

Grow wiser and retain books better: Readwise sends you a daily email resurfacing your best highlights from Kindle, Instapaper, iBooks, and more. - readwise.io

· 1 month ago

Buy if you highlight heavily and actually revisit what you read — the daily resurfacing and Reader app earn loyal fans. Skip it if you read a few books a year; Kindle's built-in notes and free read-it-later apps cover that.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 14+ public sources: Reddit threads, third-party reviews, official docs and pricing pages.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo evidence in sources
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

Readwise Free

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly fees$6.99/mo
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Readwise (includes Lite)$6.99/mo monthly
Reader bundle$9.99/mo annual (~$119.88/yr)

Best for

  • Avid Kindle and book highlighters
  • Power readers using read-it-later daily
  • Obsidian/Notion PKM builders
  • People who forget what they read

Not for

  • Casual readers who highlight rarely
  • Businesses or teams — consumer tool, no admin controls
  • Privacy purists needing end-to-end encryption
  • Anyone balking at ~$120/year for a reading habit

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Real use requires the paid plan: Reader runs $9.99/mo annual (~$120/yr); free tier is limited

medium

Two separate subscriptions (Readwise and Reader) with different prices confuse buyers

medium

Users report price increases

medium

No end-to-end encryption — your highlights live on Readwise's servers

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Daily highlight resurfacing genuinely helps users retain what they read
  • Reader app praised as clean, fast, and best-in-class for power readers
  • Syncs highlights from Kindle, Instapaper, iBooks; exports to Obsidian and more
  • Strong ratings: 4.8/5 on G2 across ~200 reviews

Cons

  • Expensive for a personal reading tool
  • Long-time paying users still report frustration with Reader
  • No end-to-end encryption on stored highlights
  • Some users worry development is slowing down
  • New users report confusion about the core value

Sources & method

- 14 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed. Official docs confirm there is no end-to-end encryption.

official x1review x9security x2news x2
  • No end-to-end encryption, Official docs state Readwise and Reader do not support end-to-end encryption.
  • Privacy critique, A 2021 blog post criticized cloud storage of highlights where local storage would be possible; no breach reported.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 14

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Fans say worth it; many call it pricey
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Clean, well-regarded apps; some new users confused
  • Feature depth: 5/5. Reader consolidates reading, RSS, PDFs, AI
  • Support quality. No evidence in sources
  • Security posture: 3/5. No CVEs found; no end-to-end encryption
  • 4.8/5 G2 rating ~200 reviews
  • $6.99/mo Readwise plan (monthly) Reader bundle: $9.99/mo annual
  • Yes Free tier 30-day trial, then limited free plan
  • $17M raised Funding Mostly bootstrapped; est. ~$58M valuation

Pricing

Readwise Free

$0

  • 30-day trial of full features
  • Limited highlights resurfacing after trial

Readwise (includes Lite)

$6.99/mo monthly

  • Daily highlight email resurfacing
  • Kindle/Instapaper/iBooks sync

Reader bundle

$9.99/mo annual (~$119.88/yr)

  • Read-it-later, RSS, PDFs, newsletters
  • Ghostreader AI
  • Full resurfacing

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

  • No end-to-end encryptionOfficial docs state Readwise and Reader do not support end-to-end encryption.10
  • Privacy critiqueA 2021 blog post criticized cloud storage of highlights where local storage would be possible; no breach reported.11

Official docs confirm there is no end-to-end encryption.

What users say

Power readers call it worth every cent; casual and budget-conscious users question the price and value.

“100% worth it for me.”
Reddit, r/readwise
“I LOVE READWISE! Their reader app is super clean”
Giststack comparison, 2026
“Nothing comes close to Readwise in functionality”
Reddit, r/macapps

Alternatives

Compare Readwise with each alternative.

  • Instapaper

    Cheaper, simpler read-it-later; pairs with Readwise

  • Matter

    Polished read-it-later alternative for lighter needs

  • Raindrop.io

    Bookmarking and highlights with a capable free tier

    Readwise vs Raindrop.io
Full analysis

Based on 14+ public sources: Reddit threads, third-party reviews, official docs and pricing pages.

Great for heavy highlighters who revisit reading; pricey overkill for casual readers — Kindle notes or free apps suffice.

Methodology

Based on 14+ public sources: Reddit threads, third-party reviews, official docs and pricing pages.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. review
  10. security
  11. security
  12. official
  13. news
  14. news

Add this review to your site

This check for Readwise says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.