shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Recreation.gov?

Reserve experiences at over 3,600 facilities and 103,000 individual sites across the country. - recreation.gov

Worth it. If you're camping, permitting, or touring on federal land, you have no choice — this is the official booking system. Skip it for state parks and private campgrounds, and budget for added fees and bot competition.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources (Reddit, Trustpilot, TripAdvisor, Wired, Outside, Congress CRS, HackerOne, official pages).

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Pay per booking

Free account + per-reservation service fee

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes

Best for

  • Federal campground and cabin bookings
  • Permit lotteries and timed entry
  • National park tours and passes
  • RV travelers on federal land

Not for

  • State park trips — most states run their own reservation systems
  • Guess: private campgrounds and glamping — use Hipcamp or KOA instead
  • Anyone expecting relaxed booking — high-demand sites vanish in seconds
  • Fee-averse travelers — service fees stack at checkout

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Per-reservation service fees stack at checkout; users say the money never funds the parks

medium

Wilson v. Booz Allen alleges deceptive 'junk fees' cluttering listings

medium

New inventory sometimes fails to appear when booking windows open

medium

Scrapers and checker tools compete for the same campsites you want

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Official reservation system for 3,600+ federal facilities and 103,000 sites
  • One account covers campgrounds, permits, tours, passes, and timed entry
  • Runs a public vulnerability disclosure program with safe harbor for researchers
  • Native iOS and Android apps for booking on the go

Cons

  • Reddit users call it 'a scam' over fees and reservation problems
  • Class-action lawsuit alleges junk fees and cluttered listings
  • Users say service fees never reach the parks
  • Third-party scrapers and bots grab inventory seconds after release
  • Wired reports the fair-access system broke down

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/06/2026 - 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x1review x5security x1news x3

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • Free account + per-reservation service fee

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Users call per-booking fees 'junk fees'; lawsuit pending
  • Ease of use: 2/5. Inventory glitches and slow refreshes frustrate bookers
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Campsites, permits, lotteries, timed entry, passes nationwide
  • Support quality: 2/5. Users report escalation needed via social media
  • Security posture: 4/5. Runs HackerOne disclosure program with safe harbor
  • 3,600+ Federal facilities Campsites, cabins, permits, tours
  • 103,000 Bookable sites Across US federal agencies
  • Free Price to use Service fees added per booking
  • Booz Allen Hamilton Operator Under federal contract

Pricing

Pay per booking

Free account + per-reservation service fee

  • No subscription or membership
  • Service fee added at checkout
  • Fee amounts vary by facility

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Sentiment skews negative — users resent added fees and bot competition but keep using it because it's the official federal channel.

“Recreation.gov is a scam!”
Reddit, r/camping
“Do NOT trust the reviews on Recreation.gov”
Reddit, r/camping
“Anyone else have trouble with recreation.gov website today?”
TripAdvisor forums

Companies that use it

  • National Park Service
  • Bureau of Land Management
  • U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources (Reddit, Trustpilot, TripAdvisor, Wired, Outside, Congress CRS, HackerOne, official pages).

The mandatory official channel for federal camping and permits — free to use, but expect fees, bots, and glitchy inventory.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources (Reddit, Trustpilot, TripAdvisor, Wired, Outside, Congress CRS, HackerOne, official pages).

Sources

  1. official
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. news
  7. news
  8. security
  9. news
  10. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.