Should I use Recurly?
Subscription management and recurring billing for high-volume digital commerce. - recurly.com
Depends. Buy if you run a scaling subscription business with meaningful billing volume and churn to manage. Skip if you're early-stage or low-volume — the $249/month base plus 0.9% fees cost more than simpler tools.
Confidence
High. Based on 12+ public sources: official pricing/security pages, three independent review platforms, and one security advisory. No verbatim user quotes were available in the source snippets.
Ratings
- Value for money
- Ease of use
- Feature depth
- Support qualityOnly vendor claims, no user evidence
- Security posture
Pricing
Starter
$249/month + 0.9% of billing volume
ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
Second plan (unnamed in sources)Contact sales
Best for
- →High-volume subscription businesses
- →Digital commerce brands scaling recurring revenue
- →Teams fighting churn and payment recovery
- →HIPAA-sensitive verticals like GLP-1
Not for
- ×Early-stage startups — the $249/month base is steep
- ×Businesses with no recurring revenue at all
- ×Small teams wanting simple billing — use Stripe Billing
- ×Low-volume subscriptions where flat-fee tools win
Gotchas - check before you buy
medium
$249/month plus 0.9% of billing volume; the fee compounds as your revenue grows
medium
FAQ lists only two plans; larger-plan pricing is unpublished and sales-led
low
Some third-party listings call it 'freemium' but official pricing starts at $249/month
low
2017 SSRF vulnerability (CVE-2017-0906) in Recurly's Python client library — keep SDKs patched
Pros and cons
Pros
- +Proven at scale — exceeded $10B in annual transaction payment volume
- +Named Best Subscription Revenue Management solution in G2
- +4.6/5 Capterra rating from 62 reviewers
- +SAS 70/SSAE 16 compliant platform
- +Official Shopify app plus Zendesk and GCP Marketplace presence
Cons
- −$249/month Starter plan before any usage fees
- −Adds 0.9% of billing volume — costs grow with revenue
- −Only 4.2/5 with 30 reviews on the Shopify app store
- −Markets to high-volume brands; smaller teams pay for unused scale
Sources & method
Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 12 sources - Platform is SAS 70/SSAE 16 compliant with published security pages; finding is a 2017 SSRF CVE in its Python client library, not the platform core.
official x4review x4security x2news x2
- CVE-2017-0906 — SSRF in Recurly Python client library, SSRF vulnerability in the Recurly Client Python Library before a patched release (GitHub advisory GHSA-38rv-5jqc-m2cv). Affects the client SDK, not the hosted platform.
Comments
One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.
No comments yet.