shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Refern Review

Depends

Should I use Refern?

Every reference you collect, in one place you own. - refern.app

· 2 weeks ago

Solo artists and designers who want to own their reference library should buy — $35 once is low risk. Teams, mobile-first users, and anyone needing guaranteed vendor longevity should wait.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~20 public sources; many snippets were truncated, limiting detail. No named corporate customers found.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence in sources
  • Security posture

Pricing

$35 one-time

Lifetime license

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo

Best for

  • Solo artists collecting references
  • Illustrators and 3D artists
  • Pinterest refugees with huge pin libraries
  • Local-first moodboard builders

Not for

  • Teams needing shared, collaborative boards
  • Mobile-first users — no Android capture
  • Anyone needing vendor-stability guarantees
  • Browser-based workflow users

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Shutdown rumors on Reddit were never clearly resolved in sources reviewed. One-time purchase limits recourse if development stops.

medium

$35 upfront with no free tier advertised — you pay before you can trial it.

medium

No Android share target; capturing references on mobile needs workarounds.

low

Local-library means you own backups and any future migration yourself.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • $35 one-time purchase includes all features and future updates
  • Local-first library — you own references instead of renting from Pinterest
  • Positioned as a credible PureRef alternative for 3D artists
  • Browser capture extensions for Chrome and Firefox
  • Users report importing libraries of 15k+ pins

Cons

  • Reddit thread titled 'refern is shutting down' — continuity risk unresolved
  • No Android app or share-target support
  • Desktop application only; no browser version
  • Users still debating whether a V2 is real

Sources & method

- 9 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x5security x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 5/5

    Rating

  • $35 one-time

    Starting price

  • 9

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 5/5. $35 once, all features and updates
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Desktop-first; no Android share target
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Described as feature-richer than smaller rivals
  • Support quality. No support evidence in sources
  • Security posture: 3/5. Publishes security page; no incidents found
  • $35 Price one-time, all updates included
  • No Free tier single lifetime purchase advertised
  • Desktop App type plus Chrome/Firefox capture extensions
  • 15k+ pins Largest user library cited single Reddit report

Pricing

Lifetime license

$35 one-time

  • All features included
  • All future updates included
  • Desktop application

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

Alternatives

Compare Refern with each alternative.

Companies that could

  • Soleil Pictures (film studio) Uses Milanote instead
Full analysis

Based on ~20 public sources; many snippets were truncated, limiting detail. No named corporate customers found.

$35 one-time desktop reference library for artists — strong value, but unresolved shutdown rumors and no mobile capture.

Methodology

Based on ~20 public sources; many snippets were truncated, limiting detail. No named corporate customers found.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. official
  2. security
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. official
  8. review
  9. official

Add this review to your site

This check for Refern says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.