shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Robert H. Smith School of Business (University of Maryland)?

Top-ranked business school offering full-time, evening, weekend, and executive MBA, masters, undergraduate, doctoral, and executive education programs. - rhsmith.umd.edu

Depends. Buy if you're a domestic applicant targeting consulting, finance, or the DC market who can absorb $43k–$52k/year tuition. Skip if you're an international student without a network or unwilling to carry six-figure education debt for a #47-ranked program.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 14+ public sources; only one student review found, so user-experience confidence is limited.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security postureNot applicable; no security evidence

Pricing

$43,470

In-state (per year)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
Out-of-state (per year)$52,380

Best for

  • Domestic career switchers into consulting or finance
  • DC/Mid-Atlantic professionals
  • Applicants with ~633 GMAT, 3.3 GPA
  • Maryland residents paying in-state rates

Not for

  • International students expecting hand-held placement support
  • Budget buyers — $52,380/year out-of-state plus living costs
  • Applicants below ~630 GMAT or 3.3 GPA
  • Anyone wanting a quick, cheap credential

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Listed tuition is per year; a two-year MBA doubles the sticker price before living costs.

medium

July 2026 program redesign means current curriculum may differ from older rankings and reviews.

medium

Career support skews domestic; internationals need their own networking plan.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Forbes ranks it #47 among US business schools
  • Graduates average $138k salary vs $47k pre-MBA
  • Degrees at every level: MBA formats, masters, undergrad, PhD
  • AACSB accredited
  • 4 Palmes of Excellence from Eduniversal; founded 1921

Cons

  • Out-of-state tuition hits $52,380 per year
  • Competitive entry: 31% acceptance, 633 mean GMAT, 3.3 GPA
  • International students report thinner placement support
  • 4.2 years to recoup tuition and forgone salary

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 8 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x2review x5news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • $43,470

    Starting price

  • 8

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Salary triples; 4.2-year payback
  • Ease of use: 3/5. 31% acceptance; 633 GMAT bar
  • Feature depth: 5/5. Every degree level plus executive education
  • Support quality: 3/5. Strong domestic placements; weaker international support
  • Security posture. Not applicable; no security evidence
  • #47 Forbes B-school rank US business schools
  • 31% Acceptance rate Princeton Review
  • $43.5k–$52.4k Tuition (per year) In-state vs out-of-state
  • 4.2 Years to payback Forbes ROI measure

Pricing

In-state (per year)

$43,470

  • Full-time MBA tuition
  • Maryland residents

Out-of-state (per year)

$52,380

  • Full-time MBA tuition
  • Non-residents

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

One student review found: strong for domestic career seekers, tougher for internationals without networks.

“Great school for domestic applicants as there are ample career opportunities. International students here need to work their network”
GMAT Club, current MBA student review

Alternatives

Compare Robert H. Smith School of Business (University of Maryland) with each alternative.

Full analysis

Based on 14+ public sources; only one student review found, so user-experience confidence is limited.

Not software — a top-50 MBA. Good fit for domestic DC-area career switchers; pricey and network-heavy for internationals.

Methodology

Based on 14+ public sources; only one student review found, so user-experience confidence is limited.

Sources

  1. official
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. Eduniversal ranking - Smith Schooleduniversal-ranking.com
    review
  7. news
  8. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.